Longevity logo

The Mission

Helping People Become the Healthiest Version of Themselves

By Shunda JenkinsPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Graduating from high school is the first day of our adult lives. As I walked across the stage, pregnant with my first son, confusion overwhelmed me. I had no clue of what I wanted to do with my life. I was a teen mom and the way the statistics goes; my life was meant to be a failure. This was not how I imagined my adult life would be, but I knew that I had to figure out my next steps.

As the years went by, job after job, work became just work. I wanted something exciting, purposeful, and meaning. The feeling of clocking in and clocking out to a job with no meaning, was cringing. I knew life had more purpose than clocking in to get my hours. That is when I sat down and started my journey. I tried several businesses from selling clothes to braiding hair. They were not terrible but there was no feeling of fulfillment.

As I thought about the things I enjoyed, the pieces begin to unfold. Growing up in a household of six other siblings and one parent, play time consistent of creativity. We did not have much, but I can remember my mom having notebooks, typewriters, and various gadgets. As I fiddled with her gadgets and sheets of notebook paper, I unlocked my true calling, teaching. I was busy creating lessons for my nieces and nephews. From math, science, and reading. Using the ten-point grading scale, each question determined their passing grade. I was a teacher. I helped them write their name, count, say the alphabet, and the list is endless. We had end of the school year parties, class pictures, year books, and performances.

Every moment in my childhood consisted of me being the leader and teacher for them. When I approached my adult life all those memories seem to fade, and I forgot to feed my inner child. Knowing I was meant to be a leader was only one part of my puzzle. What was my mission? I decided to begin the process of finding myself. Finding who I was without worrying what people may think or say. I knew if I wanted to love my life, I had to do something I loved every day.

Last year when the pandemic hit, it gave me time to think. It gave the whole world time to think, then we all got busy again. I tried so many things last year until I decided to be authentic to myself. Time is short and I no longer wanted to settle for just an ordinary life. So, I decided to sit down and ask myself “what am I disappointed with?” I changed my health in 2017 because I wanted to live a life without illness or at least lessen them. I knew people slowly allowing their health to decline, while taking prescription medicines to bandage the true root of the problem. Disappointed with this, I found my solution. There are several parts to the health space, personal trainers, doctors, nutrition coaches, and the list is endless.

I needed to decide on one area of health and then hit the ground running. Nutrition was the number one thing that disappointed me about the healthy lifestyles. I was not a fan of the fad dieting. These extreme diets focus on losing weight instead of the root cause missing in everyone’s diet, nutrition.

When you feed the body the nutrients it needs, the chances of illnesses occurring, decreases. I started my vegan diet in 2016 after learning about animal cruelty. I no longer wanted to support the meat market. The constant slaughtering of animals was a detriment to the planet and our species. The plant-base vegan diet was healthier for the body, and it benefited everyone.

Watching Hunger Games and Cowspiracy is what sparked my decision and I begin my journey to spreading my knowledge of eating a healthier plant-base diet. People all over the world are suffering from a health related illness. On science daily research website, they shared “over 95% of the world’s population, with over a third having more than five aliments.”

The pollution, litter on our roads, and air quality slowly declines as we continue to put our planet and our health at risk. As I continued my research on health and the planet, I knew that it was an epidemic. This scared me, I knew this was what I was meant to do. I was meant to teach people how to take care of their health in return my funds will go towards my environmental projects.

The plant base diet was key to helping eliminate a lot of the health issues in our world and it was time for me to convince people. Convincing people to eat healthier is not an easy task, but I am up for the challenge. I completed my certification in personal training and nutrition coaching to add credibility to my wellness business. Every client I onboarded were looking for a quick fix but that was not my intention. I wanted to teach people how to eliminate dieting and get rid of the trend completely.

Advertisement from products endorsed by influential people, stating do this to lose pounds, it was disgusting to read. Dieting had become focused solely on losing weight. There was a moment in my when I was about to throw in the towel, and doubt the mission. Clients who signed up for my program was interested in a quick fix solution. True healthy living is a lifestyle, and I was not campaigning quick fixes.

This March, I decided to go back to what I did in the beginning. It was time to get back to the basics that grew my following, sharing recipes, live videos on eating healthier. I realized when I didn’t force people to change, they were open to change their habits. I started my vegan plant-base meal prep business in March 2021 to provide the meals that I shared online. I wanted to show people that eating healthier can be delicious, but preparation of the meal was key. Food quality, nutrient density, and taste are the three main focuses of the meals. When sharing them I ensure they look beautifully plated to draw customers to me.

So, what is my mission? The mission is to provide delicious plant-base vegan meals that inspire healthier conscious vegan plant-base lifestyles. When I started my vegan diet there were not a lot of places that offered vegan options. The restaurants in my community have added meat alternatives to their menu but it’s process foods.

Disappointed again I knew that I wanted to change this in the industry. I use organic and NON-GMO ingredients in my meal preps. I have a tiny garden that I am looking to expand to provide fruits and vegetables for my meal prep business.

I am currently looking at locations in my area as I orchestrate my business plan for a permanent facility. I am ending the epidemic of dieting and replacing it with nutrition education. Once the wellness café is opened it will not be an ordinary café, it will be a wellness education studio. There will be a vegan plant-base café, cooking classes, nutrition educational classes, group exercise classes, and a garden on site for the kitchen.

Why people follow me?

I am genuine in everything I do. I show them that I want to help and not criticize. I realized I could be passionate without hurting others in the process. This separates my business from other vegan plant-base businesses because I do not force people to adopt the vegan lifestyle.

I receive messages daily about my meals and advice on how to live a healthier lifestyle. I have a private plant-base Facebook group that I share recipes and nutrition tips. As the awareness grows and people become more aware of the effects of dieting the decline of illnesses will increase.

I could do anything in life, but I realized to have meaning and purpose, working an ordinary job would not make the cut. Everyone wants to be healthier, look, and feel good in their skin. I am not convinced people enjoy dieting but if we continue to focus solely on losing the weight then people will continue this trend of poor nutrition.

Why should people support my passion?

Supporting my mission will impact the health of the people in my community, the planet, and generations to come. People need someone that will provide a platform that removes the ideal that physical appearance is the scale used for healthiness. Outer appearance does not matter when the organs, tissues, and our blood is filled with toxins from poor dieting. The more people we have providing these services the better the future of our generations.

So, what do I call myself now? I call myself a vegan holistic wellness coach and chef. I take the holistic approach to healing people. I first identify my clients pain points and offer solutions to fix them. Solutions include my meal preps, online cooking classes, a custom meal plan they can prepare themselves, or with my support. There is no one diet fits all, but every diet should include nutrition.

If nutrition is missing, then there is no diet. The plant-base vegan diet provides nutrients and a slew of health benefits. The beauty of the plant-base vegan lifestyle is that you do not have to deprive yourself of delicious desserts. Chia pudding, breakfast parfaits, vegan cheesecake, and acai smoothie bowls are some examples of recipes you can create using plant-base ingredients. Once people realize all the wonderful meals they can create using vegan plant-base ingredients, the consumption of animal products will decline.

Every day I wake up I feel fulfilled. I know my life’s mission. I spread my message on social media and with every human interaction. As I continue to grow my private Facebook group, the business, and the more lives I touch, this creates a ripple effect in our community health.

Jane Goodall said “what you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” The greatest thing I could do in life to make a difference, is showing people how to take care of themselves. When we are well everything in life is better because we are no longer stressing about our health. If I could do something to reduce that I know that I am making a difference in someone else’s life.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.