The Swamp logo

Dear President Trump Thank You

How do you think you did as president?

By Shunda JenkinsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Dear President Trump Thank You

As I am sitting here writing this letter there are so many thoughts in my mind of how this letter could be. Being a president is a title with a bunch of responsibility. Everyone wants to be it but are unsure of all the responsibilities it takes to be the president. With over 300 million people to please I rather decide on a different career.

Being a president isn’t easy you’re torn between sides with both parties making decisions on who is right and wrong. How can anyone run a country with over 300 million people and expect everyone to be happy? Constantly flooding the economy with stimulus checks, hopes and dreams on how you can make the country better. When the requirements of the people are not met, under the bus you go. Everyone wants to be heard but who gets to decide who everyone is?

If I were a cruel and hurtful being, I would have filled this letter with so many ways that you did a terrible job. Providing multiple snippets of social proof but the truth is I don’t know how you did. The only knowledge I have from your presidency is the headlines and constant bash on social media. As I write this, I can imagine that sucked. Being hated by a high percentage of your own country is bad when you think about it.

The truth is, I have never followed a president’s term. I never had an interest in politics, the ideal of believing one person could make a difference in my life simply meant I had no control over my life. Voting with the hopes that this new president will be the change that I really needed this time. This was the most disappointing feeling to have. I knew this was political crap but for years we the people all followed this tread. The idea that our presidential candidate was far superior to the other. Bashing the other candidate as if they were not part of the same country.

Following their opposing candidates’ term from a place of malice, waiting for them to make a mistake to rush to spread the news on social media or to friends and family. Elections create division, you either blue or red, that’s it. No one wants to talk about it because it creates so much conflict. It breaks up families and friendships and every time a new election year comes, I am ready for it to be over. What happen to living in harmony with the constitution purpose, a life in liberty and justice for all?

Since the day you were elected, I found more post than I can count of people tearing you down on social media. From news articles, blogs, bashing your posts on Twitter, and the list of things goes on. So much negativity and hate towards a man that was running our country, our president. I’m not saying that you did your best or your worst. I’m writing you to let you know that I am sorry that the presidency did not happen the way we all thought it would, even you.

I learned that people who behave a certain way are really lacking love, understanding, and belongingness. Humans were born perfect and then designed by programming from society, our parents, school, and the list goes on. The way we are programmed determines our behaviors even if it’s not the right behaviors. I know that you’re not a mean person you just are not happy or fulfilled because people who truly love life would be nice.

Maybe you are nice and maybe since the only thing I know is what the media allows me to know. If I were younger with a different mindset, I would bash you and tell you that I am glad you’re gone but I know that everything in life is meant to happen. You were meant to be my president. Sending bad karma to you only comes back to me. I know that there is good in you it’s just so deep inside of you that you are afraid to let anyone access it. Maybe you had an experience that made you think that you needed to be a certain way to get attention and now it’s a habit.

Know this you can change that habit. You can make your life right and you do not have to be torn between sides. You can choose to be you, remove the mask, and let people know that you really care. No one dreams of being the president and say “I’m going to really mess this up” you thought to yourself “I can make this work. “Just like the many businesses and success you created for yourself, but you cannot run a country like a business.

It takes a certain mindset, it takes hearing everyone voice, and deciding how to create a plan that benefits the country overall. It takes, putting your ego to the side and listening to the experts. It takes not having the right decisions and comfortable with admitting that.

No one knows how to be a president. You can research and look at candidates before but as the world changes and the economic issues arise you must be able to adapt to it not from a business standpoint but a people standpoint. Trump your complete presidential term was not all bad, media just chose to focus only on the bad things, and that’s what people saw. I decided to not bash you because in life you have one thing that people cannot take from you, that one thing is your self-awareness, choosing to be in control of how I reacts to things, and not letting things control the way I act. If I let every negative thing you did make me feel upset, that was me deciding to allow something outside of me to have power over me. “It’s not what happens to us, but our response to what happens to us that hurts us, Stephen R. Covey. Also, I believe in the power of gratitude and that it is foundational for healing relationships, communities, and even negative feeling people may have about you as their president.

Before I wrote this letter, I didn’t know anything about you. I thought, what will I say? What message am I trying to translate? I knew you had created a lot of success for yourself and I read an article year ago about when you were in military school. That’s it! I don’t know who you are, and I do not need to know who you are. Only you need to know that. Who are you deep down from the many layers of hurt? That’s the person we need to show up every day.

As I close this letter, I want to ask you something, how do you think you did as president? Stephen Covey author of the 7 Habits of Effective People states that “Two people can see the same thing, disagree, and yet both be right. It's not logical; it's psychological.

The American People have spoken now it’s your turn. Share your peace.

trump
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.