Longevity logo

The Importance of Self Care!

The Key to a Healthy Mind, Body and Soul

By Alyse McDonaldPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

I've been dealing with depression for a few years now and have also been dealing with some other health issues. I have been to the doctors multiple times in the last two months recently to deal with those issues.

I recently had a major anxiety attack, which I discovered was due to my iron levels. Optimally your levels should be above 50, and around 70 for it to be a "healthy level." Mine is a 14. I seen two GP's at my doctors office depending when they are available.

The first GP said 14 is low anything above 15 is ok, but it should be at about 50. The second GP said I'm only at 14 and 15 is the safe zone so I'm ok. However, once you get to zero you're looking at having to get blood transfusions and stuff. What the heck?! How am I "okay" if I'm so close to zero?! That's SCARY!!

So that's where I decided I wanted to see a Naturopath. I wanted another opinion about my health to try and figure out what is wrong with me. I was having acid reflux, digestion problems, anxiety, fatigue, nausea, dizziness, etc..

After seeing the Naturopath, its clear that she is willing to help me figure out the issues I'm deal with and help me change or fix the things going on in my body.

The GP's say take antacids for acid reflux, change your diet (did you know that there are so many food items that can cause acid reflux or GERD?! It's insane! Did you know that antacids are actually counterproductive?! They can actually make your acid reflux/GERD worse...

I spent 1.5 hours explaining ALL my health concerns/issues with the Naturopath. GP's will only see you for ten, maybe 20 minutes if you're lucky.

I realize why not all vitamins are created equal. The good ones are expensive for a reason. Not all vitamins are created equal. You want a good product that's been thoroughly tested to receive optimal benefits.

I've started on a new iron supplement. Btw, did you know that you need to take Vitamin C with and iron supplement?! The vitamin C helps your body absorb the iron.

Do you now anyone with digestion issues, acid reflux or GERD?! You don't need antacids, you need apple cider vinegar. A teaspoon of apple cider vinegar in a one ounce shot glass topped off with water is the best remedy ever!! The first few times, it tastes nasty, but you get used to it. Take that ten minutes before each meal. Or take it whenever you feel "backed up." Ever since I started this (only like four days ago), I've started to feel better. No more acid reflux/GERD! No more feeling stuck or backed up. Or course not all of my issues are gone, but I'm not feeling as horrible as I did. I also now take a probiotic to help aid in digestion. The supplements I was given are called "Thorne" and I have heard good things about them.

I'm in Canada, and it costs money to see a Naturopath—which totally sucks and most benefit plans don't cover much. Our government provides free health care (through our MSP program). You pay a premium based on your income. It costs anywhere between. $0-$150 based on income and family size. Children under 19 are free now.

Anyways, I think it's ridiculous that it costs anywhere from $40-$160 to see a Naturopath. They are medical professionals. But of course, the drug industry is a multi billion dollar company. And I know there are doctors out there who do care, but honestly I've NEVER had a doctor sit there and listen to ALL my problems in one visit and work with me to help resolve them and figure them out. I don't even have to ask for tests to find out what's wrong. She is going to check my hormone levels and everything. Things my GPs say I don't need.

Needless to say, if you are having health issues and your GP prescribes multiple medications and you're still not, go see a Naturopath. At this point, I prefer to put more natural products with less side effects into my body.

Our overall health is SOOO important!! We need to take care of our bodies. If no one wants to listen to your health concerns, the key is to find someone who will.

I'm my opinion a Naturopath should be covered just as seeing a regular GP is. The government or whoever can still make their millions, just prescribe healthier alternatives. But we live in a corrupt world.

Take care of your health and your body!!

If you liked my post, please give it some love.

xoxo

self care

About the Creator

Alyse McDonald

Hello! Welcome to my Vocal Blog! Thanks for stopping by!

M

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alyse McDonaldWritten by Alyse McDonald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.