Longevity logo

The Big Fall That Happened In My Yard Just The Other Day

I fell and it felt hard enough to shake the ground on Tuesday!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Okay, it wasn’t that bad! I didn’t break any bones! I fell over 3 years ago and broke my shoulder, that felt that bad! The difference was when I broke my shoulder it was in snow and ice, not rain and mud! So, even that didn’t look as bad as the photo above!

I was going into my house and suddenly, I am landing on my bottom hard enough to shake the ground, I imagined! It felt like that! I could not get up by myself, so I waited for my hubby to come to my rescue. I knew he would be back as he told me to leave the car doors open.

He came back and immediately said, “What happened?” I knew he could see what happened, so I told him I was going back to get my purse. Only my purse was right behind me on the ground!

I don’t know what happened. He then asked me if I had hit my head. I suppose because I was a bit loopy. Not that I know of I told him.

He tried helping me up, but I was half on the lawn and half on the gravel of our driveway.

He went to his truck to get a carpet floor mat for me to kneel on when getting up. That worked. I didn’t think I broke anything, except maybe my ass.

Good thing there is some good padding back there.

I was talking to my daughter as she is an RN. She is my go-to person for anything medical. I am so glad I have a go-to person. It was my mother, but she has been gone since 2009. She was a medical person of sorts.

That is another story, for another day!

My daughter asked first if I hit my head, then if I had called the clinic as I am on blood thinners. I told her I was low the last time I checked. She asked why I am low, so I went into the whole story about how I have been eating microgreens and that makes my INR go down.

Last summer it was because I was eating too much kale.

So, even though I was pretty sure it was nothing serious, I called and because I am old, the triage nurse requested I go into urgent care. Well, she didn’t exactly call me old. She just said, “When you get to be over 60, you are more likely to break a bone.”

I guess she was calling me over 60, aka = old!

I asked if she thought I may have broken my old ass and then we both laughed, and it hurts now when I laugh. I discovered I laugh way too much as I have been in pain too much since I have fallen!

While there, I had to wait for hours to get out of there. Hubby went to DQ, ate dinner, went for a walk, and waited, and waited.

I have the very best hubby! Except he didn’t bring me any supper.

I had an x-ray of my old ass, with two young technicians, that asked if it was okay for the male to be in the room with me with my underwear and a long shirt. I said I don’t care; I have older grandchildren than you two! And I’m sure you have seen other old asses before!

When she showed me the x-ray, I couldn’t tell anything. I don’t know how they can read them. Then it occurred to me that I had seen my granddaughter’s x-ray recently that was very clear, and I believe it is because I have so much fat, where she has none.

And yet, the radiologist said, “No breaks, just some wear from arthritis in the joints. Which is common at her age.”

There is another age comment!

I am still healing and taking Ibuprophen, even though it was suggested, due to blood thinners on board that I only take them for 3 days. I cut down and I did not cut them out. I can laugh now without pain so that is a good sign.

My worst experience of all may be how many times old age was referenced in regards to my fall! No one directly called me old but they were sure close. Close enough to know that I don’t want to fall anymore!

And just so you know, when you are old, you don’t think about being old until something like this happens!

****

First published by Penny Press on Medium

aging
Like

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.