Longevity logo

All I Ever Wanted To Know About Cancer But Was Afraid To Ask

Like, what is this pain in my bones that wakes me up at night?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
All I Ever Wanted To Know About Cancer But Was Afraid To Ask
Photo by SJ Objio on Unsplash

A difficult question that I am still asking: Ten years ago, I got up the courage to ask my oncologist about the pain that wakes me up at night. I said that it feels like it is in my bones. He said, "What happens when you get up?" I told him it goes away so then he said, "Well, get up then!"

And that was the end of that! I looked up the pain and it said that there is such a thing as bone neuropathy or peripheral neuropathy. They would always ask about my hands and feet. Nothing there before.

Gradually over time that waking up pain went away.

Now it is my feet and leg pain that will wake me up at night, and yes, when I get up it goes away. I almost always think it is cancer until I am told it isn't. I just had my feet x-ray as my primary says that neuropathy can disintegrate bone.

And let's not forget blood work to look for thyroid or vitamin deficiencies. I just had blood work looking for cancer and have more bloodwork coming up for my appointment in a few short months.

I was diagnosed with plantar fasciitis this year and that hurt during the day until I bought all the right shoes and don't go barefooted. I was referred to PT recently for a general health plan and had foot and leg pain so, after a month, PT said that my feet and leg pain is more than plantar fasciitis.

More thoughts of cancer! My next appointment with my primary is in 3 months. I am diabetic and my A1C is up, I think from waking in pain many nights in the last couple of months. My day bs readings are under 150, so no insulin most days and I am not taking pills. I am on a sliding scale and take 1 unit if I am over 150.

Another common question about cancer: Will I lose my hair with chemotherapy? An oncology professional said, "We don't know as everyone is different!" Our mail lady had same cancer and she said, "You will lose your hair before your second treatment of R-CHOP. I did. She was right.

Will my hair grow back? The oncology professional said, "It depends, as everyone is different!" The mail lady said, "I bought a dozen wigs to wear until my hair grew back. I put them away, just in case I need them again!" I bought 3, that was enough and I gave them all away!

I prefer to believe that I won't need them again! All my hair grew back on my head, most of my eyebrows, and my chin hair. It never grew back under my arms or on my legs! Bonus!

And another: After ten years I am considered in remission. Not cured as cancer I have is treatable, probably not curable, the oncologist that specializes in non-Hodgkins lymphoma told me when diagnosed and reminded me when he retired a few years ago now.

When will it come back? Oncologist professionals say, "Everyone is different!"

Okay, so I am going to do what I can, within reason that is. We live in farm country and don't allow the farmer to plant a crop after the one he planted. He wanted to use roundup on the field three times for one crop. He used it once and we said no to any more than that.

It is in the ground for 5 years!

I have air purifiers in the house and a salt lamp by my bed. I have plants that take the toxins out of the air in my house. I use essiac/ezzeac/renee's tea every day to help with my immune system. I see a "cancer lady" in Blackduck a couple of times a year.

Then, I have not drank alcohol or smoked cigarettes in over 41 years, very little grilled food in ten years and I cut way back on hotdogs, and red meat. I eat very few foods that have been smoked or processed.

And my final question for this article: Am I doing enough? I want to know, but I know what oncology will say! "Everyone is different!" They didn't suggest I change anything or do anything different or ask me what I am doing to prevent a reoccurance.

What would your questions be?

health
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I don't know how you were so patient when you were always given that same lousy answer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.