Longevity logo

Taking Control Of Your Mental Health.

In today's society we see so many articles, posts, etc that promote exercise and getting in shape, but we have forgotten about the most important part of our bodies...our minds. Mental health is equally important, if not more important than our physical health. How does yours look?

By Annarenee SpeakerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read

For as long as I can remember, I have struggled with some type of mental illness. When I was about 13 years old I recognized the beginnings of the struggles of depression and anxiety. I started to become sad for absolutely no reason at all, I isolated myself, I saw no purpose in life, and along came the suicidal thoughts. My anxiety grew when I was around large groups of people, I worried that everyone was talking ill of me, and I lived in a constant state of paranoia. Along with these struggles also came an eating disorder that still effects some of my life today. It wasn't until November of 2019 that I decided to really do something serious about my mental health. I started taking antidepressants, and now I see a counselor. I could lie and tell you that I'm better, cured, or fixed, but that just isn't the truth. Some days are good, some days are bad, and some are a mixture of both. What I want everyone to take away from this is that you are NOT alone. You CAN take small steps to better your mental health. Taking small steps can really lead to big changes. If medicine or therapy isn't an option for you, there are ways that you can improve. Here is a list of ways that have helped me over the years.

1. Talk to yourself. This may sound strange, but it helps. Be your own best friend. Have tough conversations with yourself that challenge your attributes, both negative and positive. Analyze your own behavior and your reactions to the environment around you. How can you react better to something? How can you change how you think about something?

2. Find a hobby that you genuinely enjoy. Make time multiple times a week or everyday to work on/practice this. Is there a way for this to become a career? For me, my hobby was/is CrossFit. I became a CrossFit coach and I get paid to do what I love. Find something that burns a passion inside of you below all of the darkness and fight for it. Make it a routine part of your life.

3. Be selfish. It is more than okay to put yourself first. For the longest time, I put others first before myself. My mental health took a turn for the worst during this time. You cannot make others happy until you can make yourself happy. Take time out of each day to work on YOU and YOU only. If going out with friends is going to make your mental health worse, then stay home. Real friends will understand. That being said, sometimes you need to push yourself to get out because it can distract you and make you feel better. I like to nap everyday, and that is my selfish time. Napping helps my brain reset for the day and get a fresh outlook on things.

So, my advice to you is, be your best friend. Take care of yourself, and put yourself first. That is the only way you can begin to live peacefully in your own mind.

mental health

About the Creator

Annarenee Speaker

Hello! I’m a 20 year old mental health and fitness advocate! I am a CrossFit coach & I’m taking classes to become an EMT! My goal is to Inspire others through my writing by being someone that others can relate or look up to.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Annarenee SpeakerWritten by Annarenee Speaker

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.