Longevity logo

Scare of My Life

By: Trinitie Thain

By Trinitie ThainPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Scare of My Life
Photo by Josh Riemer on Unsplash

Over the weekend, I had a one of the scariest experiences I could have imagined. I know, yes, people have gone through worst. But, for me, this was scary and life changing and it's been making me think twice.

November 28th, 2020, I was rushed to the ER in an ambulance. How? Keep reading to find out...

It all started when I woke up around 7 in the morning because my stomach was roaring for food. I had been staying at my grandparents place because two of my cousins, who I grew up with most of my life, had flew in from Tennessee. They had moved there a year and-a-half previous to this event. They were flying in for Thanksgiving.

I walked in to my grandma's kitchen, shivering with the cold as I felt the cold tile below my bare feet. I wasn't fully awake, and I knew this because my hands kept twitching.

One thing I am going to tell you all, I am epileptic. For those that don't know what that is, it's a central nervous system disorder which can cause abnormal behavior, sensations, even sometimes a loss of awareness, and even seizures. And yes, anyone can develop epilepsy.

I have to wear very heavily tinted sunglasses when leaving the house and traveling in a car because sun rays passing through trees? That causes strobe light effects and set off twitches or even a seizures.

I remember seeing my grandma leaning against the island counter in the middle of the kitchen, holding a fork as she stabbed at the eggs in her bowl. There was a tupperware full of cold eggs she had cooked the night before. My grandma gave me a warm smile and I said good morning back with a hug.

I opened a cupboard near the sink and grabbed a white glass bowl and turned back to the island and started putting eggs into the bowl to heat up for breakfast.

I then turned to the microwave and right as I was turning, my hand twitched and I dropped the bowl onto the tiled floor. The crash was loud and I jumped at the sound because I hadn't realized I had even dropped the thing until I heard the sound.

I started to bend over to pick up the pieces in front and on the right side of the island when my grandma told me to stop and stay still. I didn't have gloves or shoes on, she explained.

And then I saw myself falling towards the floor and towards all the broken glass. Then nothing. I remember faintly hearing my grandma calling out my name, then silence.

I have no clue how much time had passed but I remember, just barely, waking up and EMTs surrounding me. One was flashing a light into my eyes, another was pressing into my forearm, and the third was repositioning my head onto something.

I saw black edging into my vision, and then nothing, again. I don't remember what I thought about or when I was moved.

But I woke up again, this time strapped down on a stretcher and in an ambulance. I remember hearing the wailing of the vehicle, and the EMT explaining that my husband was in the front seat and he was telling me to calm down.

It all seems like a dream now that I think about it. It just doesn't seem real.

It still seems like a dream to me now, as I write this.

Next thing I know, I'm waking up in the hospital. It's dim and I remember looking around for my husband, scared and confused. He was sitting on my left, holding my hand and he smiled at me when our gazes met.

He was being my rock and he explained to me what had happened. He told me I passed out and that I was convulsing when he came in to the kitchen. He told me I was face planted into the broken glass and puking blood and that my grandma was trying to hold me still as my Aunt was calling 911.

I don't remember much, but it was so scary and it hit me, just today, that I had something similar like this happen earlier in year as well. But in the early morning, without a witness.

It was two in the morning and I had been asleep in my room when I felt something running down my chin. It was blood.

I remember going upstairs to the bathroom, since the one downstairs isn't in working condition.

I was scared, the bloody nose wouldn't stop. It just kept bleeding, and next thing I know, I'm waking up on the couch and my mother is leaning over me, looking relieved. She told me she found me in the bathroom passed out, blood everywhere and that she thought I had been stabbed and murdered.

It was a scary experience for me, this happening. Maybe it shouldn't have been that scary, but it was. It scared the living daylights out of me.

Even now, I can barely walk on my own. my husband has been pushing me around in a wheelchair since it happened.I'm having a hard time speaking as well due to a gash on my tongue and a busted lip.

Now, things I thought were super important before, just don't seem all that immense to me.

i'm finishing up my last year in highschool and I have spent this whole year stressing over assignments and tests I wanted to pass wth flying colors... but now... I want to see the world, I want to help others in my situation. I want to be that rock for others. I want to let others know that they are not going through this alone. I want to be able to support others going through these type of things.

Everyone needs to have someone when they go through something like this. Everyone does... And I hope that the people reading this, will be a rock for someone else.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.