Longevity logo

“Rock of Ages” Hope in the Storm

Context— A challenging day of medication change and Chronic Illness

By S.N. EvansPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
“Rock of Ages” Hope in the Storm
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

“God help me, please; I don’t know what to do.”

That's my prayer right now: to cry out in my affliction and anguish to the only one who understands and can help. I don’t know the future, but I know he is in control. Though my battery is leaking energy, my mind unfocused, and my corpulent body… He knows how to help me. That’s all I have. I bring nothing of value to my life, only disobedience and misery of my own making. I feel so stupid sometimes, and then I’m struck by the knowledge that God has considered my stupidity, so I needn’t worry.

I am unsure what pamphlet or book this came from; a friend posted it on Facebook. Tracing it back to a source is almost impossible.

And it makes my bitter tears turn to tears of hope— God is my only hope. Even if I live my entire life and nothing changes, if the weight never goes down or the pain never goes away, I can still rest in his peace because I know God. All of my affliction is being used for my good, even if I cannot see while the wind blows and waves crash into the side of my boat, threatening to pull it under. God is in command of the forces that threaten to drown.

God is my anchor and refuge. The Rock of Ages hymn came to mind while writing this. I need to hide myself in Jesus. It’s been a hard last few days, but with God’s help, I will make it through. God has never let me down before. His divine wisdom dictates the trajectory of my life, and I want to be obedient and follow, even when the reality of the situation doesn’t quite look like it. Every day I draw breath is a blessing from him, and he renews me daily.

Hymn: “Rock of Ages” - Augustus Toplady, 1776

1 Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in thee; let the water and the blood, from thy wounded side which flowed, be of sin the double cure; save from wrath and make me pure.

2 Not the labors of my hands can fulfill thy law's demands; could my zeal no respite know, could my tears forever flow, all for sin could not atone; thou must save, and thou alone.

3 Nothing in my hand I bring, simply to the cross I cling; naked, come to thee for dress; helpless, look to thee for grace; foul, I to the fountain fly; wash me, Savior, or I die.

4 While I draw this fleeting breath, when mine eyes shall close in death, when I soar to worlds unknown, see thee on thy judgment throne, Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in thee.

Scripture References: (The Bible, ESV)

Psalm 18:2 "The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold."

Psalm 27:5 "For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock."

Psalm 31:1-3 "In you, O Lord, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness, deliver me! 2 Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily! Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me! 3 For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name's sake, you lead me and guide me;"

1 John 4:18 "There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love."

Deuteronomy 31:6 "Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

S.N. Evans

Christian, Writer of Fiction and Fantasy; human. I have been turning Caffeine into Words since 2007. If you enjoy my work, please consider liking, following, reposting on Social Media, or tipping. <3

God Bless!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.