Longevity logo

Review Reaps Rest

I'm giving it a try so why don't you?

By Baxter PagePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Review Reaps Rest
Photo by Noémi Macavei-Katócz on Unsplash

Here I am, on the 1st January trying to make this year matter the most. I've completed exams, got out of a relationship, gone through debt, worked in a demanding setting, moved out of home for university, got another job, started writing periodically on Vocal and started investing. All of this I've done at 18. Honestly, I felt like I've learnt many lessons at this tender age.

Part of regrets one thing - not teaching it to others.

Those of you who know me personally would know that I simply cannot tell my close family or friends what I go through. This is because one, I'm introverted and I cannot say my thoughts and two, I'd get in severe trouble for it! But either way, these lessons I have learnt should be passed onto someone else who can benefit from it.

"You cannot teach a crab to walk straight." - Aristophenes

That is why I'm making a vow - all my fellow readers on Vocal will witness - I shall be writing every day. But what exactly will I be writing?

I will be journaling. I will tell you exactly what happens each day and teach you the important lessons of that day. I will try to be blunt and honest, as well giving all the details of my day. Hopefully, the title makes sense ...

Structure

Here's how I will structure my journals:

1. Lessons learnt on Day #

This is to tell you what I learnt today that may be beneficial to you as I will be making mistakes just like you since we are all human (unless you're a robot then develop some emotions!). I feel like three is an appropriate number so I will try to stick to that!

2. Quote of the Day

I feel like quotes would add a nice touch to my journal as I feel like I'm being aided in my philosophy of passing on knowledge and teaching lessons. Some may be from famous people and others may be unknown, but either way, I feel that it brings a message across. Bear in mind that it may not be related to the day, it'll be something I stumble across during the day.

3. The juicy bits - my day

So it'll be like this: I'll have the time as the heading to show the time I wrote down what is happening or has happened, and then I'll write it down. I know I'm not the world's greatest author or essayist but I certainly do have thoughts that I want to write down on my phone. I feel doing this also helps with my mental health too.

Why journal?

I have done some research on this topic and here's some key research I found from The Doctor's Weighs In website:

"Journaling can significantly reduce the symptoms of depression in women who have been abused by their intimate partner[1]."

"Journaling has been proven to reduce the rumination and brooding of college students who are vulnerable to depression and anxiety symptoms. These are two of the primary factors that lead to depression[2]."

"Three days of expressive writing (20 minutes/day) has reduced the symptoms of people who were diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder[3]."

"High-risk adolescents can reduce their depressive symptoms by journaling daily as much as they can do so by approaching CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy)[4]."

I think this summarises why I feel everyone should start journaling. It can be a few words or many pages - albeit it will help with your mental health and clear your head. As you read at the start of this, I have been through a fair amount last year, and it certainly has taken a toll on me. It has changed the way how I think, feel and do things in life.

So my final advice, start journaling a few words or draw a picture every day of how you're feeling or what is on your mind and trust me, it'll help you. ❤️

Thanks for reading & subscribe to me on Vocal.😁

Also follow me on TikTok @baxterpage.

advice
1

About the Creator

Baxter Page

Student 👨‍🎓 | Writer✍🏽 | Caffeine Enthusiast ☕|

I’ve looked at many niches and have decided poetry expresses me the best!

I hope you enjoy my content! 😁

Twitter: @baxterpage_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.