Longevity logo

Review: Crest Gum Detoxify Toothpaste

My Review on the Toothpaste

By Ashley TobinPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was sitting in the living room at my grandmother's house, watching television and I see a commercial come on about a toothpaste that helps clean below the gum-line to improve oral health. Of course, that is what intrigues me, as I am horrible at taking care of my gums and teeth and automatically think about the brand. When I saw it was Crest, I got nervous.

Before I was a dedicated Colgate user, I used Crest Pro-Health toothpaste for years. However, I noticed as I prolonged the use, my tongue would go numb for about an hour after brushing, and that my gums were swollen, red and sore. But after moving to Colgate, all of those problems were gone.

Although I was hesitant on using Crest again, I decided that I was going to give this toothpaste a try. In this article, I want to discuss how this toothpaste worked for me and give my own review about this toothpaste.

Packaging

When I first went into Walmart, where I do very little of my grocery shopping, I went immediately to the aisle where you get all of your toothpaste, mouthwash, floss, you name it, and looked for this toothpaste. The packaging is just a cardboard box that is all white, with the Crest logo and in big, blue letters, "Gum Detoxify." I found that the packaging was a little boring, but it did draw my attention when I passed it the first time.

On the back of the box, I believe it shows a diagram of the gums and the toothpaste's foaming action in works. I felt like this diagram wasn't necessary, but it was interesting to see how it would work.

When I opened the box, I liked the tube that it came in. The color scheme was just like the box, which I think could still use a lot more color in general. I think color would have attracted more attention from me, personally.

First-Time Use

On December 29, 2018, I bought the Crest Gum Detoxify Toothpaste. I first noticed that it is a two-part system. This toothpaste is the first step, while the second part is a whitening toothpaste. However, I was mostly interested in gum health and picked up the first part separately.

On the package, it mentions that this toothpaste foams during and after brushing to help kill the bacteria underneath the gum-line. As well, it has a cooling sensation to help with your gums as well. I think what really sold me on the toothpaste was the cooling sensation to aid with swollen gums.

When I first used the toothpaste, I noticed and felt the foaming action taking place, and immediately after, there was a cooling sensation and felt like there was more foaming action, despite the brushing being over. I also noticed that my mouth felt genuinely cleaner when comparing it to my Colgate toothpaste.

On day two, I noticed that my gums had little improvement. I noticed that they weren't as sore and red as they were the previous day and even noticed that the tops of my gums were looking a little healthier than the rest, which actually got my hopes up for working.

First Week

After using the product for a full week, I definitely noticed my mouth feeling a lot cleaner as well. There was definitely a big improvement to when I first started using the product. A lot of reviews said that they experienced odd coloration after using this product over time, but I haven't seen any after the first week.

Overall Review

Overall, I actually really like this product. Although it is Crest and I'm not a huge fan of their products, I enjoyed using this product and seeing the results that I want. If there is any room for improvements, I definitely think they should look into the metallic taste after the prolonged use. A lot of reviewers noticed that it had a metallic taste right away, but I noticed it after using it for an extended period of time. Other than that, this product is definitely worth it!

Now, like I said, I am not sponsored by any of the brands mentioned in my review. I am just reviewing a product that I wanted to try and also help others decide if the product is worth it or not. I hope this review helps and good luck!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.