Longevity logo

Regained My Hair After Stress

Terrible hair loss experience in my life

By HealPointPublished about a year ago 3 min read

-By Cole Sorina

I never thought I would lose my hair. I always had thick and shiny locks that I loved to style and show off. But then, everything changed.

It started with a stressful period in my life. I was going through a divorce, a career change, and a move to a new city. I felt overwhelmed and anxious all the time. I had trouble sleeping, eating, and relaxing.

I noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual. At first, I thought it was normal and temporary. But then, it got worse. I saw clumps of hair in the shower, on my pillow, and on my brush. I saw bald patches on my scalp that were getting bigger and more noticeable.

I was terrified and embarrassed. I tried to hide my hair loss with hats, scarves, and wigs. I avoided going out or meeting new people. I felt depressed and hopeless.

I knew I had to do something about it. I decided to seek help from a therapist, a doctor, and a dermatologist. They diagnosed me with telogen effluvium (TE), a type of hair loss caused by stress. They explained that stress can disrupt the natural cycle of hair growth and cause more hairs to enter the resting phase and fall out.

They assured me that TE was reversible and that my hair would grow back once I reduced my stress levels. They gave me some tips and treatments to cope with stress and improve my hair health.

Here’s what I did to regain my hair after stress:

  1. I practiced relaxation techniques such as meditation, yoga, deep breathing, and progressive muscle relaxation. These helped me calm down and release tension from my body and mind.
  2. I engaged in physical activity that I enjoyed such as walking, jogging, swimming, and dancing. These helped me boost my mood and energy levels.
  3. I spent time with supportive friends and family who listened and offered comfort. They helped me feel less alone and more hopeful.
  4. I pursued hobbies and interests that made me happy and fulfilled. They helped me distract myself from negative thoughts and emotions.
  5. I got enough sleep and rest to recharge my energy and mood. They helped me cope better with stress and challenges.
  6. I ate a balanced and nutritious diet that supported my health and well-being. They helped me nourish my body and hair with essential vitamins and minerals.
  7. I avoided alcohol, caffeine, nicotine, and drugs that worsened stress and anxiety. They helped me avoid further damage to my body and hair.
  8. I used gentle hair products that were free of harsh chemicals such as sulfates, parabens, or fragrances. They helped me protect my hair from irritation and breakage.
  9. I avoided excessive heat styling or brushing that damaged my hair. They helped me prevent further hair loss.
  10. I massaged my scalp with oils such as coconut, olive, or jojoba to increase blood circulation and nourish my hair follicles. They helped me stimulate hair growth.
  11. I took supplements such as biotin, zinc, iron, vitamin B12, or omega-3 fatty acids that supported healthy hair growth. They helped me fill in any nutritional gaps in my diet.
  12. I consulted a dermatologist who prescribed me minoxidil, a topical medication that stimulated hair growth. They helped me speed up the recovery process.

But the most effective treatment that I tried was red light therapy (RLT). RLT is a type of therapy that involves exposing your scalp to low-level laser or LED light that emits red wavelengths. This light penetrates your skin and stimulates cellular activity in your hair follicles.

RLT is a safe, painless, and non-invasive treatment that can be done at home or in a clinic. It has no known side effects or risks.

I bought a red light therapy cap online after reading some positive reviews from other users. A red light therapy cap is a device that you wear on your head like a hat. It contains multiple LED lights that emit red wavelengths to cover your entire scalp.

I used the cap for 15 minutes every day for three months. The results were amazing. My hair stopped falling out so much. My bald patches started to fill in with new hairs. My hair became thicker and healthier. I felt more confident and happier.

I still use the cap once a week to maintain my hair growth. I also continue to follow the other tips and treatments that I mentioned above. I have learned to manage my stress better and enjoy my life more.

I hope this story has inspired you to try red light therapy for your hair loss. It has changed my life and it can change yours too. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you!

health

About the Creator

HealPoint

Get ready for an explosion of transformative insights and skyrocket your well-being journey!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HealPointWritten by HealPoint

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.