Longevity logo

Recharging Your Life Batteries

Let's Talk About Self-Care

By Becca G.Published 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

So it's been a hot minute since I've posted. But there was a reason of course and this topic covers it all.

At the end of January, I started my spring semester of my sophomore year of college. I thought I had everything in a pretty neutral spot for once, but life quickly threw some curve-balls my way. I took action when things got pretty bad for myself.

I soon started therapy and began my journey of learning about myself and working to be better than I once was. In one of my sessions it finally clicked, I wasn't taking care of myself to my best ability. A major puzzle piece I was missing was self-care.

As a college student my life is constantly busy. Studying late at the library, working a part time job, attempting to be social, maintain my relationship, stay in contact with my family, do homework, rush to classes, and so much more. Yet I was letting my own battery die out.

My therapist and I talked about what self care really means. Her definition: whatever activity that helps me feel recharged, relaxed, and just overall better.

Basic Google search for definition.

Google had a similar definition. But how often do we actually hear this sort of definition? On social media we hear that slapping on a face mask, soaking in a hot bath, and playing music is the key to a full battery.

Don't get me wrong, those are perfectly good ways to recharge, but they are not the ONLY or most effective ways. Sometimes, the things we don't think are self-care, are our best methods.

Basic care for our bodies is one of the BIGGEST ways to practice self-care. Taking a shower, brushing your teeth, putting on fresh or comfy clothes, eating something, and even just sleeping is so important. These activities are super necessary sometimes but not always taken into account. And sometimes they can be the hardest to do.

Cleaning and organizing are also great outlets! Sometimes just refreshing a work space or bedroom can help clear our minds and give that fresh start feel!

CHECK IN! Have you taken care of yourself today?

Tag me if you share your board!

_____________________________________________________________________________

Every read, share, and tip is appreciated so much! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support!

Stay in touch!

Instagram: @vocal.beccag

Business Email: [email protected]

Pinterest: Vocal - Becca G

self care
Like

About the Creator

Becca G.

Blue Hair | College Student | Mental Health Advocate | Writer, Poet | "To die would be an awfully big adventure."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.