Longevity logo

Reach in, down, and outward

Finding the 4th dimension, space and time, in a busy world.

By Tamatha RawlsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The sun as seen through dense smoke from rampant fires.

If I were to ask, "How many people are interested in all four dimensions?" Did you raise your hand or become disinterested immediately? My interest in this aspect of science piqued when I was introduced to my first episode of Doctor Who back in 1977 when I heard the word T.A.R.D.I.S. (Time and Relative Dimension in Space). It sounded remarkable! And it sounded far fetched. Little did my seven year old brain realize that accepting the quickly offered less than a minute speech would stay with me forever.

I won't go into the years of absorbing information about Einstein's theories on special relativity but I'll touch base on this as it applies to everything that follows: there are 3 dimensions we work with in everything we feel, say and do every minute of every day of our lives; up and down; in and out; back and forth. We go up and down elevators, escalators, our moods go up and down as we watch a movie or listen to a story or hear about our raise at work. We use in and out as we get in our cars and get in to traffic and then park and get out of our vehicle and out of that bunching of nerves behind the wheel we call driving. We use back and forth when we utilize a swing set, the oscillation of thoughts - should I do this or not, should I go there or stay home? Then, when our day and night is full, of all the ups and downs, ins and outs, back and forth, we have the last dimension we take for granted - time and space.

It is a point of creativity and relaxation when we find this point of space-time continuum for ourselves that we get to truly embrace time. Time to look up to the stars and take a deep breath. Watch a shooting star go by. The space needed for yoga. What do I do with this time and space? Think about time and space? I'm a Doctor Who geek so the answer is - probably.

Taking the time to find the time and space to ground myself and let go of the day isn't always easy with the demands of my current job. Twelve hours a day five and six days a week plus the commute puts a bit of a crunch on personal time. But does it always? There's a moment provided by the subconscious telling you, "Hey, look around. What do you see besides the cars bumper to bumper and people's anxiety?" Take a deep breath and exhale, "I see birds, swallow tails, swooping in between the cars to get the bugs for breakfast. I see the sunrise and it's spectacular rich and vibrant colors streaking the sky. I see a red tail hawk perched on the street light hunting breakfast." I feel awesome because I know I'm probably the only person who took time to realize the space around us and see what fantastic things are going on while people get frustrated behind the wheel.

Take time to ground myself in the here and now, in time and space, so I can enjoy the other dimensions. I love taking long walks by myself to be grounded with nature. Reaching down with my energy to the roots of the earth and feel the replenishing coolness of the air while red wing blackbirds chase each other through the opening morning sky. Reach further from the chakras inside and let them realign from my head to my toes using the dimensions: down and out with energy fields inside; in and out with the natural rhythm of deep breaths; reach outward or up to physically stretch and fill my lungs with the scents of nature, and cinnamon that Danish bakery alerts me that's open at 6am across the street.

My, oh my, I can never pick just one thing to do with the all the dimensions at my disposal. Go for a jog? A long nature walk? Ride my bicycle? Watch an episode of Doctor Who? Sketch a picture? Read a book? Write another book? Listen to music that makes me feel like dancing? Listen to meditative affirmations while I take a nap? Go swimming? Gardening? Roller skating?

Take time to appreciate science and the dimensions we observe and live daily: breath in and out; be mindful of reaching up to the stars and down to the earth; make good decisions when choosing between going backwards or moving forward; and take a little time and find a little space for yourself every day. You never know what you'll miss not being present in all the moments in all the dimensions, not just the anxious ones.

spirituality

About the Creator

Tamatha Rawls

Let creativity lead and your feet follow, wherever it may take you. Storyteller by nature and lover of skating, reading, chai, rainy days, animals that thump their tails for attention, or purr on your lap by the faux fireplace.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tamatha RawlsWritten by Tamatha Rawls

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.