Longevity logo

Out of the Depths...

My Experience With: Having Pneumonia

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Out of the Depths...
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

I know I’ve been saying for a long time that I will do something lifestyle based and so, I am doing a lifestyle blog about things that happen on a day-to-day basis. I will be talking about my experiences with various things, some things will come back over and over again because my days are very much similar. If something else happens then it happens. Hopefully, you and I can get along and I can go along and tell you a little bit of a story about this experience I’ve had and then we’re going to talk about it. I’m going to discuss my reaction and my thoughts on the experience afterwards. Not only am I thinking about getting a dialogue going, but I’m also looking to make friends with people who have probably had similar experiences to me. Not only that though, maybe we can have a bit of a laugh and rethink this shit - maybe our minds can be changed and enlightened together. Or, you can just be here to enjoy the story and listen to me ramble on. If you want to read this in my voice then I kind of sound like a cross between Freddie Mercury and Scar from the “Lion King”. So get the full ‘experience’ there. So immersive.

Out of the Depths…

By Adam Nieścioruk on Unsplash

I’m going to tell you a story about when I seriously thought that I was going to die of a sickness I had during 2018. I’m not even sure how it came about and I don’t think I will ever be able to remember the very beginning of the whole thing. I will, however, do the best I can.

Shortly after my 22nd birthday, I began to get sick and I got a cold, it got stuffy. As someone who suffers profusely with colds and fevers, I didn’t think anything of it. I think that this must have been how it started because it would only be this that would be the reason why I didn’t go to the doctors for so long. After about a week, the cold had not gone away and the colour in my face was turning even paler than usual. But still, I didn’t phone the doctor because I thought that now, it was the flu. During the next few weeks, my body temperature dropped and I got really cold. I started shivering in 15C heat and my heart rate was increasing I knew, in order to keep me warm.

After a month, I started coughing up blood. I would throw up blood and wouldn’t tell anyone except my mother. My mother would take me to the emergency ward where I would be coughing up blood into tissues. When I was finally seen by a doctor, they told me I had pneumonia. “Where the hell did I manage to get that from?” Was a reply from me that told them I didn’t understand how this worked.

I would be sick, on medication, off medication, coughing up blood, unable to eat, dropping 30kg in weight and shivering in mild heat for the next six months. From about the end of January until the end of July or start of August, I was like this. I was back and forth from the emergency ward, I was in and out of hospital. I was breaking out into cold sweats and more. And I thought I was going to die.

I stayed in bed and ate soup most of the time because I was far too scared to go and stay in the hospital. I just don’t like the atmosphere there. Everyone is really upset and it probably wouldn’t make me feel any better. But here’s how I got better in the end, even believing that I actually wouldn’t get better and just die from this horrid thing.

Every single day, my mother would boil some water, chop up some fresh ginger root and wait for the water to turn yellowish. She would then put in a teabag and wait for it to turn dark brown. After this, she’d strain it into a cup and make me drink it as hot as possible. Honestly, it’s not the nicest tasting thing but it helped so very much that I started to be able to eat properly again and I no longer coughed up blood.

(Wipes sweat from forehead). I am truly happy for beating that.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.