Longevity logo

'Nazar' - The Evil Eye

Are we still believers of 'Nazar', (the evil eye) or have we come to realise that these old beliefs within our communities, are all in our mindset?

By Belynder WaliaPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like
The five fingers on the hand of 'Fatima' represents the five pillars of Islam. The blue eye, is mainly a symbol of protection to ward of the evil eye.

I was having a conversation with my cousin about a visiting relative that had brought such encompassing toxic energy into my home, as she herself was not in the right frame of mind. To my surprise the first thing my cousin said was once my visitor leaves my home, I should cleanse the energy around me.

All my life, I have been told, cleanse your energy. To keep ‘Buri Nazar’ (curse of the evil eye) of others away from me. Those from Turkey, Cyprus, the Middle East, some parts of Africa and most Far Eastern societies are aware of what the ‘evil eye’ symbolises. This is a belief from our ancestors, that there is a curse of others, bad luck or the loss of all you have gained put upon you and in order to protect yourself, you must carry out certain cleansing rituals. For most, it is possessing the ‘blue eye’ or in my culture, the burning of chillies or hanging chillies and lemon from a string outside the front door, or saying a prayer by rotating a hand full of salt around oneself and then throwing it into flowing water. Even in the western world, it is becoming all so popular, where such things like ‘white sage smudging sticks’ are now being ‘smudged’ to keep negativity out of our homes. That too may be attached to those who visit our homes or have said something that has put a slight fear in our ‘gut’ about their energy. Again this has developed from the idea saturated through ancient culture into our current thought processes today.

Moreover, many people who follow the ‘law of attraction’ also speak of not ‘jinxing’ what you have not accomplished yet and suggest one should keep quiet about things due to people’s negative energy having an effect on the outcome. I questioned my own beliefs about undesirable energy that I thought was the cause of my downfall or delays of my success.

In the past, if anything did happen and things went wrong in my life, I was ‘taught’ by my elders, that it was always due to other people’s negativity or discouraging energy. Obviously, these words would have had an impact on my thoughts as a child growing up. I have questioned time and time again when things have not worked out for me, whether it was ‘Nazar’ as this was the only thing that made ‘logical’ sense at the time, as ‘bad luck’ never really had any other motive, or was it in my mind? It has always affected me if I never reached a goal in life, or achieved success considering I always worked so hard to plant my seeds to achieve my accomplishments. It made me question; how true these ‘old beliefs’ about ‘Buri Nazar’ existing today? Have I just held onto these ‘old beliefs’ about how other people’s feelings of envy can have a huge impact on my success or do I have a choice now, on whether I want to continue to believe people’s ‘Buri Nazar’ is the cause of the delays of me manifesting what my heart truly desires? So I decided to explore my ‘Karam’ (Karma).

I am an RTT™ (Rapid Transformational Therapy™) Practitioner and Therapist, as well as an Accredited Mindfulness Coach and I can tell you this. It is all in the mind. The creation of the ideas that were embedded in me from childhood has left a negative blueprint. Which brings me back to my original question and makes me wonder if it is not our own mindset that is triggering the negativity into motion. If you review all the adverse news, trying to keep up with lifestyles, finances, relationships etc. this, in addition, has an impact on our current thoughts as well as what we have experienced in our past. Triggers are activated by certain ‘words’ that may be viewed as ‘harmful.’ If something, even one thing is not working out for us, we tend to go on this internal downward spiral without being actually consciously aware of why someone else’s words have had such an impact on our emotions or feelings. For instance, if the thought of ‘Nazar’ has always been something that has been embedded into our mindset and has been stored in our hard drive, at an unconscious level from childhood. Naturally, our conscious beliefs and reactions will be those stored in our files, the subconscious. This, in turn, would make us consciously start to feel doubt, unease, and tension arising because someone had said in a supposedly condescending way, ‘Oh you’re so lucky, beautiful or happy’ and we ‘touch wood’ or say ‘In Sha Allah.’ Whatever the case may be, we feel people are saying it because they are jealous of our success and we do not wish to speak too soon, or to be jinxed. Therefore, we assume they wish to see us fail due to their own insecurities. Once that comes to our conscious mind, we react without our knowledge and make things go wrong for ourselves. When these things start to transgress and we start believing that ‘stuff’ is only getting worse due to the ‘Buri Nazar’ that person has inflicted upon us, events in our life creates a pattern and we believe everything turns against us.

Nowadays, logic tells me that ‘Nazar’ is a state of mind. It is not a ‘bad omen.’ You see, our mind is so powerful, our love of self is so very powerful that nothing can attach itself to you apart from what is internally embedded as an ‘idea.’ Other people’s negativity can only have an impact on your lifestyle if you allow it to. Our thoughts can get so easily influenced by another person’s toxic energy. You might be very intuitive without actually knowing you are and that can, in turn, make you realise that people that are around you are not always wishing good things upon you, even when they say they are. It is strange how we all seem to ‘just know’ our clairsentient mindset is activated and our body reacts. In turn, if that is something, we hold onto at unconscious level, of course, things will always go wrong because we never programmed our mind to think differently. We held on to the ‘old beliefs’ and to continue to ‘believe,’ which in turn caused our own internal ‘blockages’ so none of our affirmations or intentions manifest or they are extremely delayed due to these thoughts we have. I think each thought we have can become our reality. For instance, we create our own ‘bad luck’ because that is what we have surfaced, that niggling doubt, that an idea of things not coming right due to the other person’s energy being so low and harmful to them. I get it now. I understand what influencers such as Jay Shetty, Oprah, Deepak Chopra, Christie Marie Sheldon, and many others are trying to tell us. Really, I got it a long time ago, however never applied it as I do now.

Look, if we are from a ‘higher source of energy’ a ‘supreme being’ and ‘one’ essence and the most powerful in all of existence is the energy of ‘love’ that dwells within our being, then we are invincible in ways that are beyond our imagination. Our power to destroy our ‘old beliefs’ can only be done if we look deep within our self and use a ‘moral compass’ to guide us to know who we truly are as ‘human beings’ and what we are internally. Our ‘essence’ is from ‘one’ conscience that makes us human.

I am simply saying if people have envy, jealousy or some form of ‘cursing’ it can only affect my wellbeing if I continue to allow it to settle in my mind. Their intentions are none of my business and all I want to believe is that I am protected by good, through being grateful and having a heart full of joy. I have the knowledge and understanding of what I need to do to succeed. I have the knowledge and understanding that I possess the most powerful tool on this planet—my brain. If I am from this all-powerful ‘source of energy’ then that love is what keeps me safe. In essence, nothing can harm my ‘being’ because I am a part of what I believe has created my mind, body, and soul.

As a final thought, nothing can harm you, or bring you down if you do not allow it to enter in your mind. ‘Buri Nazar’ is non- existing if you believe it to be. Reframe your mind by eliminating, destroying, eradicating thoughts that can have such a negative impact on your life. You would not allow strangers into your home, so do not allow the idea of these thoughts to enter your head. Only have the vibration and thoughts of love, joy and gratitude in your life and once you stay connected with these things, watch how easily manifesting your life’s desires becomes. Empower yourself. Change your mindset and it will change your life. (serenelifestyles.com)

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.