Longevity logo

Natural Strategies to Sleep Better

Getting a good night’s rest can be achieved by employing several effective strategies

By B.R. ShenoyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

“Sleep is the golden chain that binds health and our bodies together.” -Thomas Dekker

Sleep is essential for protecting both our physical and mental well-being. Sleep allows the body to repair itself and be fit and ready for a new day.

Per the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, lack of sleep is linked to multiple health issues, including heart disease, kidney disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke, obesity, and depression.

What Happens During Sleep?

According to the American Sleep Association,

“Changes in your temperature, heart rate, and brain activity all occur during sleep. Although physiological demands are decreased, several things are still going on.”

“As you pass through the various stages of sleep, your body cognitively and physically restores itself. For example, cells synthesize protein, tissues repair themselves and growth hormones are released while you are sleeping.”

“Sleep may also help your brain reorganize and retain memories. While you're awake, your brain is receiving lots of information and images. You might even be trying to learn new things. While you're asleep, your brain may replay and organize the events, memories and information from the day. During sleep, your brain might be consolidating new memories and processing information all of which help with cognitive function.”

Struggle to Sleep

I used to struggle for years to achieve good sleep. I would wake up in the middle of the night for an hour or two, struggling to fall back asleep again. Or I would take a couple of hours to fall asleep in the first place.

I would wake up in the morning exhausted and irritable. I would have to pop melatonin or an antihistamine occasionally to achieve the desired rest I needed.

Then one day, I decided I was fed up with stressing out about sleep. I resolved to follow the advice of the experts and take matters into my own hands.

Limit Caffeine

I limited myself to one cup of coffee or tea per day. I completely refrained from consuming any caffeine after my first cup of coffee around 7 am. Coffee, tea, or caffeinated beverages after breakfast were reserved for special occasions.

I indulged in an occasional piece of chocolate here and there, but that was about it. When I partook in dessert later in the day, it was usually a non-chocolate treat.

By Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

Exercise

I began to step up my daily exercise regimen. Exercise speeds up your metabolism, elevates body temperature, and stimulates hormones such as cortisol.

Walking, Yoga, Pilates, Barre, Balletone, and Stretching

I already walked outdoors daily at a reasonably brisk pace for about 45 minutes. I added twenty-five minutes of either yoga, Pilates, barre, balletone, or stretching to my daily walks.

Excellent YouTube workout videos and apps abound for the exercises above. I practiced yoga either virtually with my yoga instructor or with a YouTube video. My favorites are SarahBeth Yoga and Fitness Blender.

All the bending and twisting of the muscles required for yoga/Pilates provided me with a deep sleep - the likes of which I had never experienced before.

Strength Training

I began a twice-weekly strength training regimen, which played a huge part in enhancing the quality of my sleep. I started working out to ten-minute bodyweight workout routines (with 2 to 3 pound free weights) on YouTube.

Alternately, working out at the local gym on the strength training equipment (the long pull, the leg press, and the leg extension) worked wonders as well. By the time I had completed three sets of eight repetitions per exercise for each workout, I was utterly exhausted.

Important Tips

Keep in mind that it is best to mix and match different workout routines to prevent boredom and keep the routine fresh. It will also give your body time to recover and prevent injuries. Do not overdo any exercise. Listen to your body above all else and do what works for you.

Another essential point to note here is that you should do moderate to vigorous exercise at least three hours before bedtime. If you do it too close to sleep, it can have the opposite effect and make you feel wired.

Any form of exercise and limiting caffeine intake was instrumental in helping me achieve a good night's rest. I stopped taking melatonin and antihistamines for sleep, even on an occasional basis. Everyone is different, so not everyone will require as much physical activity to achieve better sleep.

By bruce mars on Unsplash

Additional Strategies for Better Sleep

In addition to physical activity and limiting caffeine intake, there are several proven strategies to sleep better at night, including:

  • Stick to a consistent sleep/wake schedule.
  • Get enough sunlight every day.
  • Get a good mattress.
  • Keep your bedroom dark and cool.
  • Avoid screen time a few hours before bed.
  • Eat lighter meals at night and at least two hours before bed.
  • Take a warm bath or shower.
  • Stop looking at the clock.
  • Resist the urge to nap after 3 p.m.
  • Get out of bed if you cannot sleep.
  • Turn on some white noise.

Takeaway

The key takeaway is that moderate to vigorous exercise, limiting caffeine intake, and employing the other sleep strategies mentioned above are crucial to good sleep. They are all a small price to pay to wake up each morning feeling refreshed and ready to take on the day. After all, as Tom Roth eloquently stated,

“Sleep is an investment in the energy you need to be effective tomorrow.”

This article originally appeared on Medium.

health
Like

About the Creator

B.R. Shenoy

Content Creator|Blogger|Nature and Travel Photographer. Connect with me on Medium and NewsBreak.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.