Longevity logo

Natural Alternatives to Shampoo

Give your scalp a break from the suds with some more natural alternatives to shampoo.

By Jus L'amorePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

For me, washing my face before bed has always and will always be one of my most tedious beauty to-dos; however washing my hair is a very close second.

This isn't because I don't like to shower, because trust me I do, I really do, but for a woman washing our hair is so much more than just a "shower." It's the shampooing, conditioning, drying, and styling that really gets on my nerves. Let us not forget finding the perfect product for my both oily and dry hair, sensitive scalp, and hundreds of dollars spent in coloring—talk about a needle in a haystack. That is why I find it best to just skip this step altogether when I can.

Luckily for me, it seems my occasional lack of hair motivation may actually be the healthier option for both me and my locks. Not only do I save money, but with a "no poo" day, but I also save myself from some of the harsher ingredients many brands contain. (Side note: "No poo" is an actual term used which stands for no shampoo. I know, pretty awful).

Anyways, if you have ever tried to read what's in the product of your choice, you would probably have better luck if it were written in Chinese unless you're a mad scientist.

The ingredients are many and are often dangerous. Take SLS or Sodium Lauryl Sulfate for example—which has been linked to depression, rashes, and even cancer. Or how about Potassium Sorbate, which can cause skin and organ system toxicity. I am not trying to scare you, but this is just all the more reason to stop scrubbing so often and give these natural alternatives to shampoo a shot.

Here are a few to get you started.

Baking Soda and Apple Cider Vinegar

Baking soda and apple cider vinegar, when combined, are the most popular replacement combo for store bought shampoo.

It's actually very simple: start by mixing one tablespoon of baking soda with water until you get a paste (don't overdo it).

Next, massage this through your hair and scalp for a few minutes, or if you're like me and have zero patience, aim for one minute. Remember to always massage, as it cleans out the pores and gets rid of the build up.

Since baking soda can be a little tough to remove, apple cider vinegar is the best way to rinse it out of your hair. Combine one tablespoon of cider to two cups of water and rinse rinse rinse until your hair is clean of both.

Lemon Juice

While I’ve only ever used lemon juice to lighten my hair, I am eager to give this one a shot.

By mixing the lemon juice squeezed from one lemon mixed with equal parts warm water, you create a great cleanser, especially for people with dandruff.

Once applied, massage it through your hair for a good five minutes. Then comb through and rinse out and viola, you have clean hair just from a lemon. This is one of the easiest and cheapest natural alternatives to shampoo.

Dry Shampoo

Oh, where would I be without my dry shampoo? Not only does she (yes, she) work wonders in between showers by soaking up any oil, but she also makes styling my hair a lot easier.

Acting almost like a hairspray, dry shampoo adds texture and volume, and let us not forget how pretty it smells! Two of my faves are Rahua Voluminous Dry Shampoo and Skinny Skinny Organic Dry Shampoo. Life changing!

Essential Oils

Essential oils are taking over the world, I swear! In addition to their pleasing aromas and the million other things they are said to do for illness, wellbeing, and beauty, it seems hair is not to be left out of the magic.

There are so many different combinations for all different types of hair but to give you an example, try mixing two drops of tea tree essential oil with the two tablespoons of baking soda and water, as I mentioned above.

This is especially great for dry and dandruff prone scalps. Another combo is coconut milk, vitamin E oil, olive oil, and the essential of your choice for scent. The options are endless and most certainly worth a try.

Water

Yes, you are reading this right, I said plain old water. I do this now and again, whether I am in a rush or just wanting to give my colored hair a break from the products. Just rinse your hair like you normally would, give it a quick massage, and be done. If tangling is your problem, a quick spritz of a leave-in conditioner spray just on the ends will help. This, by far, is one of the simplest natural alternatives to shampoo. Give it a shot!

beautylifestyleself care
Like

About the Creator

Jus L'amore

Sometimes offensive yet mostly sweet. Always honest and often vulgar. I'm a wife, MILF, and everyone's homey. From trends and sex to mom life and fitness, I tell it how it is and not how it should be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.