Longevity logo

My Hair Loss Journey After COVID-19

By-Rachel Malka

By CareSpotPublished about a year ago 5 min read

I always loved my hair. It was long, thick, and curly. It was my crowning glory. I took good care of it and enjoyed styling it in different ways. I got compliments on it all the time.

But everything changed when I got COVID-19.

It was the worst thing that ever happened to me. I had all the symptoms: fever, cough, loss of smell and taste, shortness of breath. I felt like I was dying. I spent two weeks in the hospital, hooked up to oxygen and IVs. I was scared and lonely.

Thankfully, I survived. I was so relieved to go home and start my recovery. But that’s when I noticed something else.

My hair was falling out.

At first, I thought it was normal. Maybe it was just the stress of being sick. Maybe it was the medication I was taking. Maybe it was the change of seasons.

But then it got worse.

Every time I washed my hair, I saw handfuls of strands in the shower. Every time I brushed my hair, I saw clumps of strands in the brush. Every time I touched my hair, I felt it thinning and breaking.

I was horrified. What was happening to me? Why was I losing my hair?

I did some research online and found out that I had a condition called telogen effluvium. It’s a type of hair loss that happens when a stressful event (like a viral infection) disrupts the normal cycle of hair growth and makes more hairs enter the resting phase. These hairs then fall out a few months later, causing noticeable hair loss.

The good news was that telogen effluvium was usually temporary and reversible. It didn’t damage the hair follicles, and most people would regrow their hair within six to nine months. The bad news was that there was no way to stop it or speed it up.

I felt hopeless and depressed. I hated how I looked and how I felt. I lost my confidence and my joy. I avoided going out or seeing anyone. I wore hats and scarves to hide my bald spots. I cried every night and wished for my hair to come back.

But then something changed.

I realized that I couldn’t let this condition ruin my life. I had survived COVID-19, which was a miracle in itself. I had so much to be grateful for and so much to look forward to. I decided to take charge of my situation and do something about it.

I started by taking better care of myself. I ate a healthy diet that included plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean proteins, healthy fats, and dairy products. I made sure to get enough vitamins and minerals that were essential for hair growth, such as vitamin A, B vitamins, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, iron, zinc, and biotin. I also took a multivitamin supplement every day to fill in any gaps.

I also managed my stress better. Stress can worsen telogen effluvium and prolong the hair loss. I found healthy ways to cope with my stress, such as meditation, yoga, exercise, hobbies, or talking to a therapist or a friend. I also practiced gratitude, positive affirmations, and self-care to boost my mood and confidence.

I also got enough sleep every night. Sleep is essential for the body to repair and regenerate itself, including the hair. I aimed for seven to nine hours of quality sleep every night. I stuck to a regular sleep schedule, avoided caffeine and alcohol before bed, and created a comfortable and relaxing environment in my bedroom.

I also treated my hair gently. I avoided harsh chemicals, heat styling tools, tight hairstyles, and frequent washing that could damage my hair and cause breakage. I used a mild shampoo and conditioner that suited my hair type and texture. I used a wide-tooth comb or a soft brush to detangle my hair gently. I applied a leave-in conditioner or a serum to protect my hair from frizz and dryness.

And finally, I tried red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a non-invasive and painless treatment that uses low-level laser or LED light to stimulate blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the scalp. This can enhance the hair growth and density by increasing the activity of the hair follicles and extending the anagen phase of the hair cycle.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be effective for various types of hair loss, including telogen effluvium, androgenetic alopecia, and alopecia areata.

Red light therapy can be done at a clinic or at home with a device like a red light therapy cap. A red light therapy cap is a wearable device that fits over your head and delivers red light to your scalp. It’s convenient, safe, and easy to use. You just need to wear it for a few minutes every day or every other day, depending on the instructions of the device.

I bought a red light therapy cap online and started using it regularly. I was skeptical at first, but I was willing to give it a try. And I’m so glad I did.

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed a difference in my hair. It felt thicker and stronger. It looked shinier and healthier. It stopped falling out as much. And best of all, I saw new hairs growing in.

I was overjoyed. I couldn’t believe it. My hair was coming back.

It’s been six months since I started using the red light therapy cap, and my hair has improved so much. It’s not as thick as it used to be, but it’s getting there. I’m confident that it will continue to grow and recover.

I’m so happy with the results of the red light therapy cap that I want to share it with others who are going through the same thing. If you’re experiencing hair loss after COVID-19, don’t lose hope. There are things you can do to support your hair health and speed up the recovery process.

One of them is trying red light therapy.

If you want to learn more about how red light therapy works and how to choose the best red light therapy cap for your hair loss, check out this post: How to Choose the Best Red Light Therapy Cap.

I hope this article has been helpful and inspiring for you. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I’d love to hear from you!

And remember, you’re not alone in this journey. Many people have gone through the same experience and have successfully regrown their hair. You can do it too!

Stay strong and stay positive! 💕

beauty

About the Creator

CareSpot

Brace yourself for an adrenaline-pumping health blog that will leave you breathless! Crush your weight loss goals, turbocharge your hair growth, zap away pain, and ignite a fire of vitality.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CareSpotWritten by CareSpot

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.