Longevity logo

Minoxidil and Red Light Therapy Helped Me Overcome Alopecia Areata

My Poor Hair Journey

By LifePulsePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always had a healthy and beautiful hair. I never had to worry about hair loss or thinning. I took my hair for granted. Until one day, I noticed a small bald patch on the back of my head.

I thought it was nothing. Maybe I had scratched it too hard or pulled it too tight. I ignored it and hoped it would go away. But it didn't. It got bigger and bigger. And then, I found another one on the side of my head.

I panicked. I went to see a dermatologist. He diagnosed me with alopecia areata, an autoimmune condition that causes the immune system to attack the hair follicles and cause hair loss. He said there was no cure for it, and that it could get worse or better depending on the individual's response.

He prescribed me some steroids and immunosuppressants to reduce the inflammation and suppress the immune system. He also suggested me to try minoxidil and red light therapy to stimulate hair growth.

What is Minoxidil?

Minoxidil is a medication that was originally used to treat high blood pressure. However, researchers discovered that one of its side effects was increased hair growth. This led to the development of topical minoxidil, which is applied directly to the scalp to treat hair loss.

Minoxidil works by dilating the blood vessels in the scalp, which increases blood flow and oxygen to the hair follicles. This stimulates the growth phase of the hair cycle and prolongs it, resulting in thicker and longer hair. Minoxidil also reduces inflammation and DHT (dihydrotestosterone), which are factors that contribute to hair loss.

What is Red Light Therapy?

Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level laser or LED light to stimulate cellular activity in the scalp. Red light therapy can increase blood circulation, oxygen delivery, nutrient uptake, collagen production, and ATP (adenosine triphosphate) synthesis in the scalp. These processes can enhance the function and growth of the hair follicles and reduce inflammation and oxidative stress.

Red light therapy has been shown to be effective in treating various types of hair loss, such as androgenetic alopecia, alopecia areata, telogen effluvium

and chemotherapy-induced alopecia. According to studies,

red light therapy can increase hair density by 20% to 40% after 16 weeks of treatment.

It can also improve hair quality and appearance by making it thicker

and stronger.

How I Used Minoxidil and Red Light Therapy to Overcome Alopecia Areata

I decided to give minoxidil and red light therapy a try after reading some positive reviews online. I bought a bottle of minoxidil liquid and a red light therapy cap from Amazon. I followed the instructions on the labels and started using them every day.

At first, I didn't see any difference. In fact, I noticed more shedding in the first few weeks of treatment. I learned that this was normal and temporary. It meant that minoxidil and red light therapy were pushing out the old hairs to make room for new ones.

I didn't give up. I kept using minoxidil and red light therapy every day for four months. Then, I started seeing results. My bald patches were shrinking and filling in. My hair looked fuller and thicker. My hair was growing back.

I was overjoyed. I felt like myself again. I regained my confidence and happiness. I stopped worrying about my hair and started enjoying my life.

Minoxidil and red light therapy helped me overcome alopecia areata.

## Conclusion

If you are suffering from alopecia areata, don't lose hope. There are solutions that can help you regrow your hair and restore your appearance. Minoxidil and red light therapy are two of them.

Minoxidil and red light therapy are natural, safe, and effective treatments for alopecia areata. They can stimulate your hair follicles and promote hair growth. They can also improve your hair quality and appearance by making it thicker and stronger.

By using minoxidil and red light therapy together, you can achieve the best results for your hair health and appearance.

You don't have to live with alopecia areata anymore.

You can overcome alopecia areata with minoxidil and red light therapy.

I did it, and so can you.

health
Like

About the Creator

LifePulse

Experience an electrifying health blog! Unleash weight loss, hair growth, pain relief, and total well-being secrets. Your answers are just a click away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.