Longevity logo

Mental Health From Start To Finish

mental health improvement

By A CPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have bipolar one I am a 24 year old Chinese Canadian male and I hope that my story helps you. growing up gave me my fair share of issues from child hood to teen years but the peak of my personal problems came along when I was twenty in 2020 during the ramp up of the pandemic I had my first and hopefully only manic episode that landed me in the hospital. I was sure that there was something wrong with me but there was no way to explain my problem to a doctor because my issues occurred when I was alone mostly. I remember my rock bottom I was thinking that objects had the ability to duplicate themselves if they were interacted with a certain way. I tried drinking shampoo which was awful. but I say that to explain the depth at which I was struggling, I thought that gods existed in flying cars too. these types of thoughts haunted me shortly after my recovery because of the embarrassment I felt along with them. These were small things compared to my manic episode that landed me in the hospital. It all started when I woke up I took a shower and prepared myself for what I thought was the apocalypse. I thought that the world was going to end however there was no logic behind this thought and I found myself preparing for such an event by bringing my tennis rackets. I rode my bike on the wrong side of the street and then parked it at the intersection. I proceeded to remove a road sign and removed the metal bolts holding the sign together. i then brought the giant steel pole up a big hill and proceeded to pray. I then took the giant pole and uprooted a set of stair railings for steps to an apartment building. a woman who lived at the building came out and asked me what i was doing I told her to leave me alone as I was frustrated that removing the stair railing yielded no result resembling the apocalypse. The police arrived shortly after however I did not realize what I did wrong. I knew what I was doing was strange but I was so riled up that I could not think clearly.

the police handcuffed me and charged me they read me my rights. and then the accepted me into the hospital.

The doctors had to give me a shot that numbed my thumb and they made me answer some questions once I calmed down. the doctors were asking my specific questions that i had exact answers to. it was as if they had seen this behavior before. the asked me questions like are you having racing thoughts. Are you having thoughts that you are a higher power and to my surprise a lot of the questions were matching my answers. I started to realize that the doctors were no stranger to my behavior's. after they asked me some questins and gave me my diagnosis they put me on the psyche ward floor where other people with mental health problems were. I was really scarred because i felt as if i was in danger because the people there were also mentally unstable. I ended up going into someone elses room and accidentally breaking someones trust by going through there stuff. I almost got into a fight but luckily the nurses got involved I was separated and put into a solitary room unit I felt like a prisoner and slowly my mental instability got the better of me instead of relaxing and trying to calm down I thought that I was going to have to fight the guy. I started doing push ups until the nurse told me over the speaker to stop.

I spent the next eight days in the solitary room it was the size of a jail cell basically. I was given food and then the door would be closed again. I was so grateful that i was alive however I was starting to lose sight of my purpose and I began to realize that there would be more stuff i needed to clear up after I would get out. I had to pay for legal bills for the court case the city had against me luckily they dropped the charges because I only did it because of my undiagnosed mental condition at the time.

Luckily I am able to live a normal life and my goal is to help others who are struggling with similar problems. here are some tips for taking care of your mental health.

Taking care of your mental health is essential for overall well-being and a fulfilling life. Here are some practical tips to help you improve your mental health:

Prioritize Self-Care: Make self-care a priority in your daily routine. Engage in activities that bring you joy, relaxation, and rejuvenation. This can include hobbies, exercise, spending time in nature, practicing mindfulness or meditation, or simply taking time for yourself.

Maintain Healthy Relationships: Cultivate and nurture healthy relationships with family, friends, and loved ones. Surround yourself with positive and supportive individuals who uplift and inspire you. Foster open communication, set boundaries, and seek help when needed.

Practice Mindfulness: Incorporate mindfulness techniques into your daily life. Mindfulness involves being fully present in the moment, observing your thoughts and feelings without judgment. This can reduce stress, enhance self-awareness, and promote a sense of calm.

Get Sufficient Sleep: Prioritize a consistent sleep schedule and aim for 7-9 hours of quality sleep each night. Adequate rest is crucial for mental and emotional well-being, as it helps regulate mood, improve cognitive function, and boost overall energy levels.

Stay Active: Engage in regular physical activity as it has numerous benefits for mental health. Exercise releases endorphins, reduces stress and anxiety, and improves overall mood. Find activities that you enjoy, whether it's walking, yoga, dancing, or any other form of exercise.

Practice Healthy Coping Mechanisms: Develop healthy ways to cope with stress and challenging emotions. This may include deep breathing exercises, journaling, listening to music, seeking therapy or counseling, or participating in support groups.

Limit Screen Time: Set boundaries on the use of technology and social media. Excessive screen time can contribute to feelings of comparison, anxiety, and a sense of being constantly "plugged in." Take breaks, disconnect, and engage in offline activities.

Seek Help When Needed: Remember that seeking help is a sign of strength, not weakness. If you're struggling with your mental health, don't hesitate to reach out to a mental health professional. They can provide guidance, support, and therapeutic interventions to help you navigate challenges and promote healing.

Improving mental health is a journey that requires consistent effort and self-compassion. Incorporate these tips into your daily life, and remember that small steps can lead to significant positive changes. Prioritize your mental well-being and embrace a healthier, happier you.

health
Like

About the Creator

A C

hi i am new to this plat form. i have seen 24 years of life and have lived many interesting stories along the way!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.