Longevity logo

Living with Hyperhidrosis

"This is my story of living with Hyperhidrosis."

By Tasnim TPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

At least 4 in 10 people suffer with Hyperhydrosis which is a condition where a person sweats excessively whenever and wherever. Living with Hyperhidrosis can be a nightmare and affects people both mentally and physically. This is my story of living with Hyperhidrosis.

Around the age of 11, or when I had first started my puberty journey, I realised that my body had started sweating excessively and wherever I went I would be drenched in sweat. It would mostly affect my armpits, hands, and nose. Honestly it was so embarrassing and I hattteeeddddd it. But that’s not the worst part. The smell was just... Two showers a day would not even get rid of the smell and the stench would not go. Did I wanna cry in the cupboard and shut myself away from the world? Yes. Was there anything I could do about it?No.

I’ve tried everything from clinical strength antiperspirants to doctor prescription tablets yet nothing seemed to show results. The antiperspirants I had used were very high in chemicals and continuously using them created a burning sensation on my armpits which led to horrible red marks on them. In the summer, I could not wear certain types of clothing and certain colours like grey as my sweat stains would just show through. I was too embarrassed to go near anybody or talk to anybody that I just hid myself away. At this point, I was at the lowest point in my life. I was really insecure in myself and just did not know what to do. I tried avoiding school as much as I could but knew that I could not run away from my problems forever. Just when I thought things couldn't get any worse, I started sweating on my thighs and feet which made my life even more uncomfortable. I could not sit on a chair without a sweat stain appearing on the chair and I could not take my shoes off without a cheese stench lingering around my feet. I just didn’t wanna live anymore.

Back to the present, I still suffer with Hyperhydrosis but it is not as bad as it used to be. Luckily, I could tackle the bad stench of BO with my persistent used of many deodorants but there is always a slight stench there but no BO. I still face some difficulties yet one by one I am taking them down. Hopefully, one day I can live like a normal person and just go out without looking like I came out from a hardcore session but anyways that's all for now.

Xxx

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tasnim T

Tasnim T is an aspiring writer who wants to share her story and her adventures with many more ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.