Longevity logo

Keto Friendly Diet

A Guide on How to Lose Weight

By Marlee MaddoxPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

After going through something traumatic, I began bingeing food going from about 130 to 200 pounds. I decided it was time to document my latest accomplishment!

Starting two months ago, I began a low carb and low sugar diet. I have gone from 200 pounds to 177 pounds. As someone who never went a day without bread, pasta, and chocolate, I believe I can help others like myself.

The night before I started this life-changing diet, I went out and ate lots of carbs. It may not be the best choice but it gets rid of all of those cravings you would have the next day.

Every morning, I have either a cup of Cheerios and unsweetened almond milk or two pieces of turkey bacon and two eggs. It sounds like it would not be enough but after about a week you begin to get used to the portions.

Every afternoon, I eat either two small turkey and cheese rollups or chicken arugula salad. For the salads, I use two tablespoons of a dressing of my choosing, unlimited arugula, a small portion of cheese, and a chicken breast.

For dinner, I enjoy having chicken Alfredo zoodles (zucchini noodles) or chicken and roasted okra! Remember, vegetables are unlimited but must be prepared in a healthy manner.

For some, three small meals is not enough. To help curve these cravings, have two small snacks, one between breakfast and lunch. The snacks must be sugar free. My favorite choice is sugar free snack packs. Another favorite is a cup of my favorite fruits.

Refreshments must be sugar free and decaffeinated. I enjoy drinking ice sparkling flavored water. I also enjoy decaffeinated tea and coffee. Once you start getting used to the diet, you can add in a caffeinated tea or coffee.

When dining out, the first few months will be tough but learn the menu and you will be fine. At Mexican restaurants, I order fajitas without the rice and chips/tortillas. At Italian restaurants, I order a meat and salad or a vegetable. It is a lot easier than one would think.

Once a week, have a carb and sugar friendly diet so your body remains losing weight and functioning properly! During my card friendly diet, I tend to eat healthy but add in bread and a sugary dessert or beverage. Whether it's a grilled chicken sandwich with a small side of fries or a small portion of pasta, I still use portion control. Each time you eat this meal weekly, you will feel bloated, nauseous, and have a headache if you are anything like me. But I know I need to do this so my body continues functioning on this diet. Remember, the slower you lose the weight the less likely you will have saggy skin in which many doing a quick diet to shed lots of pounds. To help with the lower possibility of having extra saggy skin drink tons of water daily. I shoot for around at least five bottles a day!

I try to eat a maximum of 1200 to 1300 calories a day. I used to eat so many calories I felt bloated and sick but now I use an app called Lose It! to help count my caloric intake! It shows how many grams of carbs, protein, and fat I eat daily. Before each meal, I log what brand and how much of each I am going to eat and it sets out how many calories I need to eat during each meal of the day. I log my weight daily and it shows me how many days it will take to reach my current goal.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Marlee Maddox

College student trying to thrive in San Diego.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.