Longevity logo

Juicing In january ~ Getting Started

Come juice with me!!!

By TheNeoHippyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Hey there!!

As I had mentioned in my last December NO SUGAR Challenge post, I’m starting to use my new juicer for January!

I’ve always made smoothies with my leafy greens, some fruit, and some hemp or chia seeds, but lately I’ve found even when they’re nice and smooth, I’m gagging on the thick texture.

I’m pretty sensitive to food textures and I get nauseated ridiculously easy. So I wanted to attempt juicing to see how it might help with my nutrient intake as I navigate through my current health goals.

My goals are: to be completely free of all pharmaceuticals. (I recently weaned myself off my last prescription. I generally don’t take any over the counter drugs.)

To have all existing issues consistently at least 90% symptom free or better. (I’m usually about 60-80% symptom free these days)

And simply to heal and feel better through diet and lifestyle changes.

I have a lemon of a body. It just never worked right. The causes are numerous and complicated. Dozens of doctors and tests, lots of different diagnoses, it’s just a lemon.

A body made by Murphy’s law 😂

Either way everything has been really messed up.

I get so sour and envious of able bodied people sometimes. It’s really frustrating wanting to do basic things and finding your body unable to function.

But bitterness has never solved any of my problems, just makes it worse, so I’ll just say, NEVER TAKE YOUR GOOD HEALTH FOR GRANTED! Love your body enough to do anything to help it function at peak efficiency.

I’m fine 😂

December saw me giving up a couple things I really love. Sugar and caffeine.

I used to drink copious amounts of green tea. I got into that habit a few years ago, and I was using organic granulated cane sugar in my tea for the past six months or so before quitting it altogether.

My addictive personality made sure I was drinking up to 9 cups a day for a while, which I think is just ridiculous. I knew I had to make changes.

Since my December challenge, I have not been back sliding, I actually don’t crave sugar AT ALL anymore! It feels really great to have that monkey off my back. I do miss my green tea, but I don’t miss the negative effects of the sugar and caffeine I was getting, so that’s motivation enough not to give into it.

Starting January 1st I’m on a weed break as well. Not sure for how long, until I feel I really need it I suppose. In my previous post I talked about my love of cannabis and that I do take regular breaks from it when needed.

I’ve been fasting a lot lately as well. I glutened myself really badly over the holidays (I’m celiac) and am still feeling the repercussions of that, it can be quite debilitating. Those cinnamon buns seemed worth it at the time I swear!!! 😂

They were NOT.

Lesson reinforced for the 100th time.

​I got the juicer up and running and started with a simple celery apple mix. The juicer was less complicated than I had built up in my mind and in no time I had delicious fresh juice!

I had a big bowl of lettuce a while later, and ended my food consumption of the day with a bowl of soup. With many glasses of water throughout the day as well.

My tummy feels better this morning, and I plan to start it off with juice again today. I picked up some red cabbage, celery, apples, and oranges for this week.

I’ll have to do some research next to see what I can juice to help the parts of me that are not doing so hot.

I would say my most consistent noticeable problem is muscle tension.

I tried so many things to fix this issue but everything I've tried has shown to be only temporary.

Years of seeing my chiropractor got my bones mostly in alignment, which is awesome, but the muscles are still contracting to excruciating levels almost all the time. I wake up in crazy twisted positions, wrists and ankles all cramped and curled. It’s very much to do with my nerve issues as well.

Thanks lemon body, good morning to you too.

Anyway, I’m always up for suggestions!

I’m not sure if there’s anything I haven’t tried, so if you’ve found something really weird or unheard of that helps force contracted muscles to let go and stay that way, (I’ll take voodoo at this point) let me know, and if the other issues won’t be affected I’ll give it a go! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Take care!

Make sure to love your body and appreciate being able to move when and how you want to, good health is truly a gift.

Some of us have to work hard every day just to do basic shit and it sucks.

I’ll never stop trying to feel better though. 💕

Much love to you all!

💕

The shop is officially open!

If you’re interested in helping a tiny business grow, pick out an item! ❤️

https://www.knotiluscreations.com

For more of my stuff click my linktree!

https://linktr.ee/KnotilusCreations

diet
1

About the Creator

TheNeoHippy

The NeoHippy... Enjoying it all, naturally.. ❤️ Gardening, organic food, reading, nature and animals, trapped on the prairies, forever missing the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.