Longevity logo

I’ve Got Crystals in My Bra

And I know how to use them.

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
11
I’ve Got Crystals in My Bra
Photo by Studio Kealaula on Unsplash

I will do anything to feel different, and by different, I mean better. I’ve tried Reiki, therapy, hypnosis, energy healers and now I am devoted to my crystals.

Crystals claim to be able to help with just about anything; including finding balance, lessening anxiety, and even putting a protective barrier around ourselves to protect our energy from being sucked out by toxic others.

I draw a fine line between my Christianity and my energy healing. I am open-minded, but also know that it freaks Christians out when people try alternative healing modalities.

I have been suffering in my work and home relationships. I consider myself a highly sensitive person and the thought of carrying a stone to repel assholes and energy vampires sounded intriguing.

When I first walked into the crystal shop I savored the smell of Nag-Champa and sage. My eyes turned to the essential oils and jagged rocks of amethyst. I have always loved shops like these, but also have an aversion to physics, mediums, and tarot cards. Like I said, a fine line.

I let myself be open and walked around feeling how different polished stones felt in my hands and read about their different attributes. They promised I would feel calm and my chakras would align. They gave me a feeling of groundedness and peace.

I let myself pick out a couple that I felt drawn to. Some claimed to help with inflammation (who doesn’t have inflammation) and help with work issues and emotional health.

I learned I could throw a couple in my bra to wear as protection and so that’s what I did.

I threw another in my fanny pack that I wear to work. I have a job where I work with kids that have emotional disorders and guess what? When kids were melting down I asked them if they wanted to see my new rocks. I told them that If they held them in their hands they would feel more calm and balanced. They would feel centered and be able to focus and concentrate. They would be able to feel the magic power of the stones in their little hands.

It worked, but if it’s mental or metaphysical I don’t know. I love the look on their little faces when they hold the rocks in their hands. They get so excited when I bring in new rocks to show them and it has changed the dynamics of my day-to-day interactions with students.

I feel calmer when I hold my crystals in my hands and can rub their smooth edges. I feel more connected to something when I know I have this barrier of protection. I enjoy having something to hold and they definitely help me to feel more calm and present.

I took it one step further and went to a sound bath ceremony at the rock shop. “In general, a sound bath is a meditative experience where those in attendance are “bathed” in sound waves. These waves are produced by various sources, including healing instruments such as gongs, singing bowls, percussion, chimes, rattles, tuning forks, and even the human voice itself.” (Very Well Mind).

I found it to be extremely relaxing even when I popped in there with my Lululemon yoga mat to lay on and found myself around some very Chakra-orientated, dreadlocked hippies (I say this with the utmost respect).

I sat back and let the waves of sound wash over me, literally. We sat in this meditation for over an hour and time went by quickly. I was smudged with sage upon entry and asked to sit in a chair or lie on the floor. I felt and heard different instruments around my peripheral and only peeked occasionally to see what was going on. I saw others lying and even heard the snores of another.

By Karly Jones on Unsplash

I crave peace. I long to feel connected and in unity with my fellow humans. I believe the connection to my inner self is key.

I will do whatever it takes to be at peace with myself so I can spread that peace to others.

If it means being armed with crystals in my bra, so be it.

wellness
11

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.