Poets logo

F U Kids!

You once suckled at my breast

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
F U Kids!
Photo by Xavier Mouton Photographie on Unsplash

F U kids who are entitled and think money just falls from the sky

You ask for rides and material things

But scoff at an invite to do something that seems “uncool”

You have nothing but rude words to say

Unless you need something

And then it’s a please

And thank you

And I’ll think I’ve done

My job right

An eye roll

A snotty

Reply

How do we keep going

How do we not ring their

Little necks?

After all we gave birth

To these innocent creatures

We wiped their tushies

And thought they were the cutest

We went through the terrible twos

And tantrums at 3

And thought things

Were starting to look up

We cried when they went off

To school

And each year was just as hard

Until now when all they

Do is push us away

Like our uncoolness

Will rub off on them

Like we have some type of

Contagious disease

Like only their friends

And what their friends think

Matters

They expect

They tolerate adults

And they know everything

I know I was this kid before

And how did I actually

Believe I knew more than

The adults around me?

They seemed so dumb

And out of touch!

And here I am

So cool in my own eyes

But a total doofus

In my kids

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Lots of bitter truth and mixed in laughs, I was lucky enough never to encounter this with my two girls

  • Lol, this made me laugh. Well that's the bitter truth

  • Marcus Ten Low2 years ago

    Hi, this is very phlegmatic poetry! Very power-ful. You might like this site: stophavingkids [dot] org. It may resonate with your feelings in this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.