Longevity logo

I Started Running Today

Working towards a new goal.

By Emily FormanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I Started Running Today
Photo by Alex McCarthy on Unsplash

If you had told me this time last week that I would be writing this post I would have laughed and said you were crazy but here I am. This week I heard about a 5K that is being organized for a cause very close to my heart. I want to be part of the 5K but I don’t run. I made the decision that since I have been adjusting to my workout routine over the last several months and I’ve been putting off taking it to the next level that this is the perfect opportunity.

Today I ran 3 minutes, which I know doesn’t seem like a lot but for me, it was huge for day 1.

I Have Never Been a Runner

Running has never been in my DNA or being athletic for that matter. Sure I like working out but would rather take a barre class or walk on the treadmill. I was the kid in school that would come in last during the timed mile. I know this about myself, but here I am ready to achieve this goal and I know I am probably going to have to do a lot of training and it is not going to come naturally. I was on the track team in high school ( it was the only team that didn’t make cuts) and I threw the shot put and ran the 100-meter dash. When I had to run a mile with the entire team it wasn’t pretty and my career as a track star only lasted two seasons.

That One Summer

One spring my friends said he was running a 5K Color Run, which was very popular at the time. Knowing I wasn’t a runner but wanting to try it I agreed, and then immediately panicked. I had a few months to prepare and decided I would give it my best shot.

I trained like it was the Olympics, tracking my progress, beating personal goals, referring to it as training, and being very focused. I completed the color run and was so proud that I even did a second 5K that summer. Once, fall hit my running career once again came to an end and I never really looked back.

I do remember some things from my running that summer. I remember I didn’t diet or change my eating habits and I was in the best shape I had ever been in, I felt good, healthy, and the feeling of working towards a goal was rewarding.

This time around I am not as focused on the number on the scale but feeling healthy overall. I have gained 20 pounds in the last year and a half so I do need to shed some of that.

Let’s Give Running Another Shot

Last night as I was lying in bed I decided I wanted to try running again and the cause for the 5K means a lot to me personally along with being focused on my health. This morning when I went to the gym, got on the treadmill, I had my book, coffee, set the time to 25 minutes, set my typical incline, pace, and was ready to go.

Except when the time hit 5 minutes I ran for one minute, I started sweating, my legs started feeling weak as I made it through that one minute it felt good. Then when the time got to 15 minutes the same thing I started running for one minute still out of breath and sweaty I got it done. I also promised myself that if I started a new chapter in my book I would have to run, so when the chapter started I gave it another minute.

There you have it my first day of running and I ran three minutes. Now to some, this seems like nothing or it is really displaying how out of shape I am. That is fine this is my journey and I know I am starting from nowhere. I am excited, proud, and ready to keep going.

My first day of running was an overall positive experience and I am looking forward to seeing where this takes me.

Stay tuned for more updates on my running. Will running stick this time around?

fitness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.