Longevity logo

iSolated mE DAY:1

Thoughts and an experience through being from full-time work to full-time redundant

By GeeseGoosePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Greenwich University; stunning and architecturally beautiful bring questions to mind

So being that yesterday was officially day one of my redundancy, it doesn't count. This was all brought on by the COVID-19 strain of Coronavirus.

I worked in recruitment having worked in Hospitality since the age of 14, I wanted to try something different and office oriented, benefits and disadvantages for sure but, it's nothing related to this post. Another time.

Two days ago my company along with 20 other employees that we were being made redundant in the hopes of keeping the business afloat and in order to pay everyone wages they would terminate contacts immediately whilst granting the monthly wage of everyone that worked there. Cultural shock at best. Onset boredom and questioning existential being at worst.

This is still taking time to adjust to the normality given that I live in London, from Ireland (COYBIG!), we are supposedly going into a lock down that could affect us for months on end with no prospect of coming out of this positively. STAY IN YOUR DAMN HOMES

First day was unproductive which is why it's not worth reporting on or glossing over. Netflix and a lot of sleep, ready to eat meals and a shower to clear the thoughts...do you know that the three 'e's in Mercedes sound different? wild, huh?

So today given that it's just passed 12, I have cleaned the house (I live in a small one bed flat) top to bottom, laundry, dishes, clothes reorganized, bathroom scrubbed and toiletries neat as can be. I have done quite a bit since waking up at 9am.

I feel it's necessary for me to explain working from home can be SUPER difficult if you don't stick to a plan which is why I have set myself goals and to get showered and dressed every morning. It sounds super simple but, its been proven in a study by the British Health and BBC that you retain the brain activity and increase productivity if you do that compared to sleeping in, turning on the laptop whilst the loading screen reflects all the chins that you thought you had and more and looking like a wild Wookie from the front whilst star-fishing in bed and working from there. Former rather than the latter.

Exercise. Now I am a PT and an Strength and Conditioning Coach but, I definitely do not get enough exercise which is troubling and hard on the ego which I can solve by busting out the yoga mat and doing a few stretches and positions every day but, what I am talking about is mental exercise. I mean reading books, trying to do some math equations from back in my old school books and trying the age old meditation but, that is one I am still struggling with.

Focusing on your mental health is super important to me over this period. Holding yourself accountable to your choices and actions can be very quite strict but, at the same time rewarding. Which is why I have given myself a period of at least 10 minutes everyday so that I can reflect and get a bit of a 'mental break' in between some demanding course work and my workouts at home #quarantinelife

Having all the tools and equipment is great but, without the experience and process you might as well try hammer a nail with Crocs.

Note: I really want to challenge myself this whole during this whole quarantine business because funnily enough we work our asses off for this kind of time and energy that we can have in the future so, might as well learn a new skill or two or keep an open-source blog to keep the mind busy!

Best

GeeseGoose

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

GeeseGoose

From full-time work to full-time redundant; thanks to #COVID19

"Just a dude, being a dude, disguised as another dude"

- Robert Downey Jr.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.