Humans logo

How I ruined cinema dates forever..

A date with a close friend's friend in a cinema that couldn't go more wrong if you tried.

By GeeseGoosePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

This story plays back in the year 2015 in the season Autumn (if I am not mistaken). I had just landed myself a really hot date at the time though the catch was this was one of my friends best-est friend. For the clarification of this narrative, my friend is a girl, her name shall be M. The date we can call her A.

The first scene is myself with M in her house,prepping for this date. We agreed that the cool idea would be to watch a movie but, because I had been juggling school, work and other projects, A included, we only had a short window to see a movie and travel back home. I was checking with her what time suits best, what movie and throwing a bit of flirting her way. I was in no means a ladies man but, I somehow pulled off the cockiness as it was all new.

A few minutes later it sets on me that I have not truly kissed a girl yet, except from the 'washing-machine maneuver' which I had done a few summers ago. Gross.

I turn to M for some advice. Just to get a bit of girls perspective and a little of inside information on A and told me that she likes her hair being touched, hand around the waist and slow kisses. Still a bit precarious of the situation to unfold later tonight, M reassures me that, "it's nothing to worry about, I doubt she'll know the difference between the kisses she has had in the past...". I asked her to explain. She told me that from what she has heard in the past from previous kisses with others and their mates that, "she was a shit kisser". Having that comment being said, it had instilled my confidence a bit more and I had begun to prepare for the date.

Roughly around 3 hours later, mainly due to Irish Transport being horrifically bad, I arrived at the cinema in a town called Dún Laoghaire. Fortunately for me this gave me the opportunity to be a gentleman and pop into a nearby Tesco and grab 2 bags of popcorn and some Malteasers to share. She had arrived at the front doors of the cinema waiting for me. She looked great; petite, brunette hair running down her face and browny-green eyes that stared back at me with a cheeky grin to suit. I walked over to her leaned in for a kiss on the cheek said hello and chatted along as we went up towards the cinema screen doors.

At this point, I felt I was doing great, I felt nothing could go wrong...

After the ads and trailers for the movie, we began to watch Foxcatcher with Channing Tatum and Steve Carrell (sidenote: I usually watch every minute of every movie within the cinema but, this was by far one of the worst movie I had ever witnessed, the memory of this date did not help the scenario either). Myself and A were happily giggling to ourselves saying this is crap, snuggling up to each other placing my hand on her leg and her hand over mine leading up to our first kiss. This is when I started to go over what I had drilled over previously..

Firstly, I leaned in, brought her face to mine and stroked her hair out of her face.

Secondly, I placed my hands around her waist bringing her closer for our kiss.

Then just before I kissed her, I saw her eyes reflecting in the cinema screen light and said unconsciously said to her, "Don't worry, I'm a shit kisser too".

Ruined. And I mean ruined the moment. Ruined any prospect of us. Ruined the movie which I was hella mad about. But most importantly, upset her which I was devastated about.

A true story that will make me cringe until the day I die.

P.S. Even though this happened ages ago myself and A are still on good terms and laugh about it til this day. After I had told M about what had happened she already knew and laughed so hard she peed herself in her new white trousers, literally.

[This is my first Vocal post and I know I am in no ways an author but, I still thought this moment should be shared nonetheless. Hope you enjoyed!]

Best,

GeeseGoose

dating
Like

About the Creator

GeeseGoose

From full-time work to full-time redundant; thanks to #COVID19

"Just a dude, being a dude, disguised as another dude"

- Robert Downey Jr.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.