Longevity logo

I Finally Started Meditating 1 Year Ago After Years of Procrastination

Visualize your breath while you meditate

By Bryan DijkhuizenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

For a little over a year ago, I started meditating. It's helped me get calmer, more relaxed, and I slept better than the years before.

Years ago, my uncle told me about his meditation experiences and told me to try it to make myself feel more relaxed. When I was around 12–13 years old, I didn't see the long-term effects, and to be fair; I wasn't patient enough to try it properly.

But now, about almost a decade later, I finally started trying it out on my own.

My meditation technique looks like this: I lay or sit on my couch or bed and close my eyes. That's everything, and it differs a lot from what my uncle once told me to do.

He explained meditation to me as "not thinking about anything." That didn't work for me, so I tried other things last year.

Getting Started with Meditation

I rolled into meditating mainly due to the covid pandemic raging worldwide. I noticed many people on the internet getting more into this, and I found it fascinating. I listened to some podcasts about spirituality and mental wellbeing that helped me get through a challenging period.

Then I remembered the things my uncle told me about meditation and tried it again. I still couldn't do it. So I found alternatives.

I read some pieces on music meditation where you listen to some tones over and over again and sit and think about things. After a few seconds, these tones freaked me out, so that wasn't for me.

Then I found a technique that described meditation as follows:

"breath in through your nose and out through your mouth; visualize your breath entering and exiting your body."

So I started trying that, and it turned out that it would calm me. Whenever I got frustrated or stressed, I meditated for a while, bringing back the cool in me.

Since then, I have meditated at least once a day for a minimum of 5 minutes.

The Results After One Year

I can't consider myself a meditation expert, but I have experience now. After one year of meditating, I realized I could control my own body more than I knew I could before.

My physical and mental health improved as a result of meditation. As you learn to be all of these things, it also makes you calmer and more patient.

I used to get mad at everything that happened to me in the past, and still, not everything will be easy, but I noticed a difference in my approach. I stay calmer than I used to do, and I think that's a positive effect for myself and the people around me. And when I can't stay calm in certain situations, I try to breathe in and out according to the technique I use to get more relaxed—most of the time, that works perfectly.

Then there’s sleep, which is another side effect of meditation. I was unable to sleep for an extended amount of time, and I used to stay up late or roll about in bed to try to get some rest.

I have found it simpler to fall asleep now that I know how to meditate. Meditation makes me feel weary, and after a few minutes, all of my thoughts begin to flow away, and I easily fall asleep.

Takeaways

If you are suffering from mental health concerns, are having trouble sleeping, or are just interested in becoming more spiritual, I suggest researching which meditation practice is ideal for you.

There's no perfect formula for every person; you have to do it yourself. That's the beauty of meditation, it can work for everybody, but you have to find a way to make it work for yourself.

Originally Published on Medium via Better Humans

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Bryan Dijkhuizen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.