Longevity logo

How To Start Your Daily Exercise With These 7 Simple Steps

This experience is my personal on how to set up a consistent daily exercise program

By Mohammad ArifPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Exercise has great useful results. Exercise decreases the chance of heart disease. It improves your mood and especially helps to control your weight.

My life style was a dormant type. I liked to eat frying food and TV shows all day long. I did not go to the gym or for jogging.

That all changed when I went to do my medical examination. The doctor said to me I had an abnormal level of blood sugar and abnormal blood pressure level. That was not good news for me because i was only twenty years of age. With the medical examination I started exercising and taking care of what I was eating.

From that day on, I decided to exercise at least five or six days a week. I have managed to stick to this habit up to this day.

These are the 7 steps that I took to set up an exercise program for my health.

1. Always start from small

To develop a habit, you have to start from small.

First, if you set a goal that is hard to achieve, you will not succeed. For example, if I were to exercise one hour a day at the beginning, I would give up.

But when I first started, I kept myself a small goal: exercise for fifteen minutes a day at least. Then I increase the goal to 30 minutes a day, and then to 1 hour a day. If you do not exercise daily, you can not exercise one hour a day at the beginning.

The point to a successful habit formation is to start from small. Make this habit so small that you can not refuse it.

2. Set a Goal

Having a hard-working target is the key to any habit. First of all, it will give you the motivation to keep going.

Second, if you do not have an ultimate goal, you do not know why you want to do it.

So if you want to develop a habit, it is essential to set a target.

For example, you like writing. But in your daily routine you only write aimlessly and you have no goals or target.

May be you give up sooner or later.

Maybe you can set a goal for yourself and publish a book yourself before the year ends. This is a goal and you can look to...

As I received the medical result, I decided that my blood sugar and blood pressure would return to normal in the next year. So that's my ultimate goal.

When I had a target, I planned for what I needed to do. If I do not have a purpose in my mind, I will not start my daily exercise.

After one year of daily exercise and diet control, I managed to adjust the level to a normal level.

3. Enjoy your exercise

To do a proper and regular exercise is only way of reducing weight and staying healthy. What you eat is also important. Always take a diet that is good for you and always play that game that you would like to do.

I noticed some of the people that go to extreme level to reduce their weight. They will force themselves to eat neat and clean to reduce weight in a short time. It is not good. Most of them eventually returned as before.

Then you can try it and see what sports you like. However, if you do something you do not like, you will easily fed up.

My exercise plan includes going to the gym and to swim. These two activities are enjoyable and easy for me. In addition, I will go to a futsal game with friends on weekends.

The sport I hate the most is running. It is boring, and it feel pain in my knee. If I had chosen to jog, I would have given up exercising every day.

4. Make your Gym Equipment easily available and visible

Just before I go to work, I put my exercise wear on the bed. I learned that thing from James Clear. One of his book "Atomic Habits", he said about the method of visibility when he is talking about the formation of a habit.

That is very simple and state that if you want something to do, then always make it easily available and visible. For example, if I want to read something before going to bed, I will put the book on the head of my bed. Things can be seen, I will not forget them.

Same thing is here for exercise. As i saw the exercise swear on the bed after I left work, i will change into exercise wear to exercise. You should also apply this technique to some other things that encourage you to practice. For example, you can keep dumbbells in a visible place to remind you for your exercise.

5. Keep in Mind That it Will Take Some Time

Health and fitness is the journey of a lifetime. You can not expect immediate results.

Most of the people gives up because they are not able to keep continue their exercise habits because they want immediate results. Even after achieving the results, you still have to work hard to keep and maintain them. Most of us return to their old position after reaching their goals.

It takes time to understand the whole fitness process; it can help you stick to your exercise routine.

6. Do Not Miss Your Exercise For More Than Two Days

As i exercised daily for one year in the gym, i took a gap in between, because I was injured during the exercise.

I did a biceps curl on machine having cable, and the handle was not properly connected. The handle fell off and hit on my face. One of my teeth fell out. So i stopped exercising at the gym.

After I stopped exercising, my bad habits took place back. After six months of inactivity, I realized not to continue like this. So I start exercise in the gym back. It took me a long time to get used to it.

After stopping exercising for a period of time, it is difficult to continue that momentum. You can not exercise 7 days a week. Your muscle and body need some rest. So to maintain the momentum of exercise, you should not miss your exercise for more than two days.

7. Join someone in the gym who is exercising

On my first day when i went to the gym, I cannot decided what exercise should i do?. So I took my brother and he told me the basics of it.

After that I have to go to another town to study. There, I found a friend at university to work with.

At start, I feel anxious when I went to the gym. I felt worry about how others will evaluate me. At a friend of mine, my anxiety in the gym decreased.

If you are also accompanied, you can ensure that you exercise properly to decrease the the chances of injury.

I used to go to the gym more times, I become energetic and keep my exercise habits the same. Now I have not the anxiety or stress of going to the gym. Every one who is beginner should look for a friend to go to the gym.

Final Conclusion

It is not easy to develop exercise habits, but is possible. People with a dormant lifestyle like me can develop the habit of exercising daily.

I hope you will start your exercise on daily basis after reading this article

Have a look at the six steps I took to determine an exercise habit that continues to this day:

  • 1. Always start from small
  • 2. Set a Goal
  • 3. Enjoy your exercise
  • 4. Make your Gym Equipment easily available and visible
  • 5. Keep in Mind That it Will Take Some Time
  • 6. Do Not Miss Your Exercise For More Than Two Days
  • 7. Join someone in the gym who is exercising

Hope you liked the article. Thank you

fitness
1

About the Creator

Mohammad Arif

I am health professional and freelance writer, who have 4 years of experience in the field of freelance writing. I also offer paraphrasing/rewriting services to my clients.I love to work on subjects like HEALTH & fitness, fashion, travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.