Longevity logo

How to Shake an Addiction

Coffee, Alcohol, and Sugar

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I had all three addictions. Coffee was a gradual event to quit while alcohol required a therapist I saw at the time. Sugar is the last one; I have quit this only recently. I mean quit anything with sugar, such as Chewy Chocolate Granola Bars. All I have are mini semisweet chocolate chips. I’m trying to get to perfect diabetes here, and sugar is not going to help. You see I’m a brittle diabetic. This means my blood sugars can rise and fall in unpredictable ways. As a talented schizophrenic, coffee would make me manic, which means my abilities would go out of control. In 2009, I was still a caffeine addict.

In 2010, I was determined to keep up with quitting toxic substances. While staying with a friend in 2009, I was seeing how my abilities worked with a link to mania. In 2009, I experienced telekinesis when I moved the medication case I had on the table, from one side of the table to the other. I was pissed at something, the heat, my medical care going the way it was going, and my mother, all were triggers. By 2012, I was able to do this in front of my psychiatrist because it seems to work better when I do it in front of somebody, not when I’m by myself.

Alcohol was an addiction for me because that and medication helped me control myself emotionally. I was busy stuffing a lot of pain while I was drinking. The pain of being bullied in high school, the pain of having disorganized mental health treatment with my family interfering with me at every turn every time I tried to address my schizophrenia. Yes, this was all frustrating. I didn’t free myself until I got on free government health care and discovered Geodon, a medication, which proved to be what got me stable.

I was frustrated from 2009-2012 because I was still being impeded from accessing the medical care I needed. I was kept on my parent’s insurance when I should have just bucked it the second I got my benefits. In 2009, I was plenty irresponsible for many reasons. I didn’t get more responsible until I quit drinking in 2010. Drinking causes me maturity problems. I’m better off not drinking since I can determine for myself what is good for me.

Alcohol causes severe impairments in judgment. It can wear you down. I mean seriously, I don’t see why most people can indulge in one drink while alcoholics indulge in more than one drink. Most people know the legal limit is one or two drinks, and alcoholics do not know their limits. You can have a high tolerance for alcohol since alcohol comes from sugar. You can tell who's going to be an alcoholic because a sugar addict is the same thing, if children show they cannot control their sugar addiction. My family allowed me to start drinking at 18. I quit drinking on my own in 2010. I guess alcohol is cheaper than paying for college, as well as advanced degrees because they only paid for one year, and I had to find scholarships for the rest myself. My parents helped with the rent, but I paid for coming home every weekend.

I’ve quit drinking since then along with alcohol such as black tea, green tea, white tea, oolong, etc. I’m doing better now than I ever have before since cutting caffeine out of my diet. Chocolate is a different form of caffeine than coffee. Many people do not see pounding three or more cups of coffee a day as an addiction problem, yet they do. Sugar is also addicting, which is why I use stevia in my baking projects. Stevia has real sugar mixed in with stevia, which comes from a plant, but stevia is sweeter than natural sugar, so this makes stevia baking mix is perfect to use. All addictions can be broken with effort. A.A. or N.A. can be useful. Falling off the wagon, though, is not useful.

diet
1

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.