Longevity logo

How to Build the Ultimate Hair Care Regimen for Men

For guys, health and wellness isn’t just about what you do in the gym, so I’ve laid out exactly how I built my hair care routine to make sure my locks are as strong and healthy as I am.

By Tim MachadoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read

Created withNutrafol

Top Story - June 2022
16

So you look after your skin and body. You work hard to eat well, exercise often, and look your best.

Great. But how does your hair look?

If your answer is "not great," or if you don't give your hair any thought, you're making a tremendous mistake. Consider this: good grooming does not end at the hairline! So, if you want to keep looking and feeling fantastic, you have to give your hair some love.

What's the good news? This isn't as difficult as it appears. I’ve found that creating a hair routine is as easy as paying a little bit more care and attention. If you’re looking to up your overall wellness game, check out how I became interested in hair care and my simple hair recommendations for men to help you get started.

How I Got Interested In Hair Health

Throughout my teen years, my hairline has always displayed indicators of receding at the temples. It bothered me, but I was ready to live with it because of the way I styled my hair; I could hide it. However, around the age of 23, I began to notice some strange changes in the way my hair was acting. I could notice visible signs of hair thinning, and I wasn’t liking the direction it was headed.

In my early twenties, I followed a simple practice of applying hairstyle products to my hair, but it got increasingly difficult to achieve the look I desired. It was thin and dry, which is really hard to style.

When my hair started thinning, it created a lot of tension and anxiety, which had a major influence on my self-esteem and confidence over the years. It gave me the impression that I was losing my identity. My dark, thick hair was iconic among my friends and family: it defined me. After I noticed the shedding, I didn't go a single day without inspecting my hairline in the mirror.

Hair health became a main focus for me because I desired to feel in control of the unavoidable. I’m not going to lie, it was eroding my self-esteem and confidence, so I started to look into what I could do about it. When I first heard about Nutrafol, a daily hair growth supplement, I was extremely excited. I had no idea such a thing existed.

I started taking Nutrafol Men’s Hair Thinning Supplement, and straight away, I felt more confident. While it took about 3 months to start seeing a difference in my hair, I instantly felt more empowered because I knew that I was doing something about it. After years of obsessing over the thought of losing my hair, I could now wake up in the morning knowing that I was fighting it – it made such a positive impact on my mentality.

Although everyone reacts differently to Nutrafol, I started to see visible results in about three months. Aside from the results on top of my head, I also noticed feeling less stressed and experienced better sleep over the period of time.

Advice for Creating a Hair Routine for Men

My thinning hair became somewhat of an obsession for me, making social events and daily living increasingly more stressful. If you've been feeling mentally pummeled by hair thinning, supplements like Nutrafol can offer you the confidence you so need.

Maintaining a healthy head of hair begins with how you care for your hair on a daily basis. If you start to notice thinning as you care for your hair, you shouldn’t hesitate to take action to address it.

When you start to notice shedding hair, you should know that it’s never too late to take control of your hair health. Taking action to promote stronger hair doesn’t require a whole new lifestyle– just a bit of extra care and a few additional daily steps.

Here's my best advice for how you can go about it:

1. Cleaning Regimen

Hair care begins with a proper cleansing routine. Avoid sulfate- and alcohol-containing shampoos and conditioners. Instead, utilize gentle topical hair products designed for your hair type, such as dry, oily, delicate, or normal.

2. Early Intervention

Like most things in life, it’s important to intervene early when you start to notice thinning hair. Taking early proactive steps can help to decrease shedding and increase the rate at which hair grows.

3. Try Out a Hair Growth Supplement

Hair growth support options have come so far, and supplements like Nutrafol can really help to promote the head of hair you desire. If you’re experiencing excess shedding of hair, I highly recommend trying out the Nutrafol Men, which is a daily hair growth supplement that uses the brand’s patented technology to visibly improve hair growth and thickness. The supplements work by targeting the root cause of thinning hair, like hormone imbalances, stress, and poor nutrition.

I was amazed to find an option on the market that contrains drug-free, medical-grade ingredients that don't compromise sexual performance. The best part about the Nutrafol supplements is that you can incorporate them right into your daily routine, adding the recommended amount of 4 ​​capsules to the mix of other supplements you may already take. With this daily action, I feel that I’m working every day to reach my hair goals.

Three months after starting Nutrafol, I noticed significant changes in the crown of my head, as well as some improvement in hairline coverage.

4. Careful Hairstyling

Men are tempted to brush their hair excessively. Forget the myth that hundreds of strokes result in shiny hair; the reverse is true. Brushing your hair too forcefully or for too long might result in broken and damaged hair.

Instead, comb your hair twice a day and avoid brushing it when it’s damp. Avoid using hairdryers, curlers, flat irons, and other harsh styling tools as much as possible to prevent further damage. Limit the frequency with which you dye your hair, men and women alike!

5. Healthy Diet

A healthy diet is another important factor in the condition of your hair. Extreme dieting should be avoided because nutrient deficiencies can contribute to hair shedding. Vitamin and mineral shortages can manifest as hair thinning, flaky scalps, brittle hair, dry hair, and other issues.

The best approach is to eat a well-balanced diet rich in vitamins and minerals. Check out some important nutrients that should be included in your diet to ensure optimal hair health:

  • Fish oil (omega-3) decreases the irritation that causes hair shedding and nourishes the scalp, boosting hair diameter and density.
  • Zinc encourages healthy hair follicles, which support recovery from hair thinning.
  • Biotin and B5 aid in hair growth and strength, which helps to repair damaged shingles.
  • Vitamin C is an antioxidant that battles oxidative stress, a key player in age-related hair thinning.
  • Iron deficiency frequently causes hair thinning, so be sure to include an iron-rich diet that incorporates salad greens (Swiss chard, spinach, collard green), egg yolks, and black beans.
  • Vitamin D is another probable reason for hair shedding. According to certain research, a lack of Vitamin D may contribute to autoimmune illnesses such as alopecia.
  • Protein is essential to nourish hair strands and support the overall health of hair.

6. Reduce Stress

Limit your stress as much as possible, as it may contribute to thinning hair. Exercise, yoga, and meditation are all effective stress-reduction techniques that have worked for me in the past. Another great thing about Nutrafol is that it targets stress as a root cause of hair thinning, using the powerful stress adaptogen Sensoril Ashwaganha to balance stress hormones.

Hair Results that Make Me Feel Great

Many people have told me that they enjoy how I'm growing my hair out, and many have asked if I'm dying it darker since I started taking Nutrafol’s daily supplements.

I wish I had started using Nutrafol sooner, but I'm delighted with the results I have seen so far.

Of course, there are other things that have helped me stay on top of the thinning, including drinking more water than usual, using less heat on my hair, and taking extra care after showering so I don't pull at my hair and create stress on the strands.

All of this has aided my battle against stress-induced hair shedding, and it only took adding a few steps to my daily routine and being more mindful of the choices I make when it comes to my hair.

product review
16

About the Creator

Tim Machado

Health & Wellness Professional, Nutrition Coach, and Content Creator in LA.

IG: https://instagram.com/timbo_slic3d?utm_medium=copy_link

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Great to know that you got the results that you wanted out of this supplement. Looking good. Managing stress and eating well, as well as moving that body can help as well. And to avoid those silver hairs. Well done.

  • Caitlin Nightingaleabout a year ago

    fully support, especially if it helps prevent hair loss!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.