Longevity logo

How to Activate and Align Your Chakras

A simple beginner's guide on how to open and align your chakras, as well as their functions.

By Kandii KissPublished 7 years ago 3 min read

Feeling like you are stuck in a rut? Need a change, a re-awakening? Tired of feeling drained and disconnected?

I was too, so I decided to make a change.

Meditation and positive affirmations were the first step. Every night before bed I would do a chakra activating mediation. This not only helps to activate your chakras but also align them, allowing for your prana life force to flow freely between them and throughout your body. Another great thing to help your prana flow is to do yoga. YouTube has many videos for beginners if you'd like to start there before taking a class with others.

What are the different chakras and where are they located?

You have seven chakras throughout your body and they are all in a straight line from the top of your head down to your groin. We will start at the top and work our way down to explain each one.

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of your head and is for wisdom, universality, and transcendence.

The Third Eye Chakra is located between your eyes just above your eyebrows and its functionality is extrasensory perception, intuition, and inspiration.

The Throat Chakra is located in the center of your throat and aids in personal truth, etheric, & expression.

The Heart Chakra is located in the center of your chest where your heart is. This chakra is for compassion, love, & integration.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is in the center of your upper abdomen just below your rib cage and is for Will, social self, & power.

The Sackral Chakra is just below your belly button and is for emotions, creativity, & sexuality.

The Root Chakra is in our groin below the Sackral Chakra and this one if for safety & grounding.

How to Activate and Align Your 7 Chakras:

Basically you start at your Root Chakra (located in your groin area) close your eyes and imagine a red ball of swirling energy. Focus on that for a minute or two and then move on to your Sacral Chakra (about 2-3 inches below your belly button) and envision a yellow ball of energy. Once again, focus on it for a few minutes before moving on to your next chakra. Make sure you breathe slowly and deeply while you do this entire meditation. You should imagine the energy flowing from one chakra to the next. Solar Plexus Chakra (below your chest) is up next this time, imagine a yellow ball of energy here. Remember to focus on the ball of colored energy for a couple minutes then allow the energy to flow up to your next chakra. Your Heart Chakra is easily located in the center of your chest where your heart is, this one is green, focus on this energy ball for a couple minutes. Now comes the Throat Chakra and this one is a beautiful blue. After that is a very IMPORTANT one, the Third Eye Chakra, located in the center of your forehead just above your eyebrows and is indigo in color. Finally comes your Crown Chakra which is at the top of your head. With this last chakra envision the ball of energy flowing upward towards the sky as if it was a glowing crown of energy atop your head.

Now your mind and body should be at a very positive and relaxed state which can help with sleep disorders as well. Your chakras are becoming realigned and you should feel almost a tingle of very soothing energy throughout your body. This tingle is known as your Prana Life Force and is cosmic energy that flows through us all.

meditationmental healthyoga

About the Creator

Kandii Kiss

Always swirled, rarely vanilla. How tos, DIY, kinky shorts, advice, skin care.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.