Longevity logo

How I Regrew My Hair with Vitamin D and Red Light Therapy

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
How I Regrew My Hair with Vitamin D and Red Light Therapy
Photo by Michele Blackwell on Unsplash

I’ve always had thick and healthy hair, but a few years ago, I noticed that it was thinning and falling out more than usual. I was shocked and scared. I didn’t know what was causing it or how to stop it. I tried different shampoos, conditioners, supplements, and treatments, but nothing seemed to work. I felt insecure and depressed about my appearance.

I decided to see a dermatologist, who diagnosed me with androgenetic alopecia, a genetic condition that causes hair loss in both men and women. He explained that it was influenced by hormones, genetics, and environmental factors. He prescribed me a medication called finasteride, which blocks the production of a hormone called DHT that shrinks the hair follicles. He also suggested that I take vitamin D supplements, as low levels of vitamin D can affect hair growth.

I followed his advice and started taking finasteride and vitamin D every day. I also did some research on vitamin D and hair loss, and I learned that vitamin D plays a role in the creation of new hair follicles and stimulates hair growth. Vitamin D receptors are present in the hair follicles, and when they are activated by vitamin D, they signal the cells to divide and produce more hair. However, many people are deficient in vitamin D, especially in the winter months when there is less sunlight exposure.

I also learned that there are other ways to increase vitamin D levels besides taking supplements, such as eating foods rich in vitamin D (such as fish, eggs, mushrooms, and fortified dairy products), getting more sunlight exposure (but not too much to avoid sunburns and skin cancer), and using artificial sources of vitamin D (such as lamps or devices that emit UVB rays).

One of these devices caught my attention: a red light therapy cap. I read that red light hair growth, also known as low-level laser therapy or photobiomodulation, is a treatment that uses red or near-infrared light to stimulate the cells in the scalp and increase blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the hair follicles. This can improve hair growth, thickness, and quality. Red light therapy can also reduce inflammation, which can damage the hair follicles.

I was intrigued by this idea of using light to heal my hair. I searched online for more information and reviews on red light therapy caps. I found out that there are many brands and models available, with different features, prices, and effectiveness. Some of them are FDA-cleared, meaning that they have been tested for safety and efficacy. Some of them have clinical studies to back up their claims. Some of them have positive testimonials from users who have seen results.

I decided to give it a try and ordered one of the best red light therapy caps for hair loss online. It was not cheap, but it had a money-back guarantee and a warranty. It arrived in a few days, and I was eager to use it.

The cap was easy to use: I just had to put it on my head like a regular hat, turn it on with a remote control, and sit back and relax for 20 minutes every other day. The cap had small LED lights inside that emitted red light at a specific wavelength and intensity. The light was not hot or painful; it felt like a gentle warmth on my scalp.

I used the cap consistently for three months, along with taking finasteride and vitamin D. I also improved my diet, exercise, sleep, and stress management habits. I took pictures of my hair every week to track my progress.

After three months, I was amazed by the results: my hair was noticeably thicker, fuller, stronger, shinier, and healthier. My bald spots were filling in with new hair. My hairline was lower and more defined. My confidence was restored.

I was so happy with my transformation that I wanted to share it with others who might be going through the same thing. That’s why I wrote this article: to tell you that there is hope for your hair loss problem. You don’t have to accept it or hide it; you can treat it and reverse it.

If you are interested in trying vitamin D and best red light therapy device at home for your hair loss, here are some tips:

Consult your doctor before starting any treatment or supplement.

Choose a reputable brand of red light therapy cap that is FDA-cleared and has clinical studies to support its effectiveness.

Follow the instructions carefully and use the cap regularly for at least three months.

Combine the cap with other treatments or supplements that your doctor recommends.

Monitor your progress with pictures or measurements.

Be patient and optimistic; results may vary depending on your individual condition.

I hope this article has been helpful and informative for you. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave them below. I would love to hear from you and your experience with vitamin D and red light therapy for hair loss.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.