Longevity logo

How I Lost So Much Weight After Giving Birth - Adesua Etomi

The mother of one gets honest.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

It is no secret that we live in a society that expects women to bounce back in record time to the bodies they were before becoming pregnant and having a baby. It is a very demanding expectation and for women who are in the limelight, the pressure is marginally heightened.

Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi who welcomed her son Zaiah in January of 2021 is a woman in the limelight and so as you can imagine, for her, there was a lot of pressure to bounce back. She eventually did "bounce back" but not according to her for the reasons people think. In a new interview with Today's Woman, Adesua Etomi opened up about everything concerning her post-baby body and what happened for her to get here. Here is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

First speaking about how motherhood has affected her, Adesua Etomi said:

Motherhood has taught me to be a lot gentler with myself. I’m more patient, and kinder to myself. It’s new territory and I’ve given myself permission to embrace the journey and not be too hard on myself when I make mistakes. Also, Zaiah makes me happy in a way that I don’t know if I can put into words. The peace is also clutch.

Then when asked how she was able to bounce back so quickly after giving birth to Zaiah, Adesua said:

Ah it’s not beans ohhhh! it’s not beans at all. I get a lot of people asking me how I’ve gotten back into shape so quickly, actually. First of all, I believe that all post-partum bodies are beautiful. Nothing prepares you for the journey of pregnancy and the amazing things that your body will do. But I made a commitment to myself to be healthy and fit and to take care of the body that God has given me, so to be completely honest, there was a lot of work to be done beforehand, during, and a little less work after the delivery. Before I got pregnant, I was at the fittest I’d ever been in my life because I was working out throughout the lockdown. While I was pregnant, I walked for 30 mins to an hour, almost every day, 99% of the time. So that definitely helped. And for me, the aim was to be healthy, not about losing weight or snapping back… although that was nice too, to be honest. Even after the baby, once I was done breastfeeding, I started working out again. But more importantly, I appreciate my body for what it’s done; I appreciate and embrace the stretch marks and all, and I try to remind myself to be patient and kind to myself as regards my body.

Adesua looked really good pregnant and she looks really good now. The pressure cannot be easy, I cannot even imagine it but it's good to see that she made the active decision to get her body in shape not because of societal pressure per say but because of her health. What do you think about what she said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Jide Okonjo Facebook page.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

weight loss
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.