Longevity logo

How Becoming More Spiritual Led to a 25 Pound Weight Loss

And a new outlook on life…

By Erin MixonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

About eight or nine years ago, I embarked upon a spiritual awakening that turned my world upside down.

It started with synchronicities (spiritual signs and coincidences), angel numbers (reoccurring random number sightings), and the upheaval of soo much of what was considered comfortable and familiar in my life.

Now that I’m on the other side (not completely though)…I can tell you that everything was needed to realign me to the place I’m at today.

Anyone that’s ever been through a spiritual awakening knows that not only does your life get rearranged, but your whole personality and way of being changes as well…

It’s like the process transforms you and forces you to rise higher.

So one of the by-products of my spiritual awakening is that I just began wanting better for myself.

At the time (which was earlier in the process) I didn’t make the connection that my new choices were as a result of me wanting better. I just knew that I had a strong nudging to make these changes.

These changes included me desiring to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into my diet.

A very fit, very strong woman doing a ballet style yoga pose with a tree stance.

I started making green juices with spinach and pineapple and other healthy fruits and veggies. Initially, I just thought it was me wanting something sweet and refreshing without adding too many calories…

Then something amazing happened and I began to notice a change in my vibration (spiritual/emotional vibe), my level of peace, and my mental clarity.

When I drank the green juice, it was like I was on a natural high…and I could see everything so clearly. I felt on top of it all.

So consequently, I wanted to feel this way all the time.

This naturally led me to start wanting to eat better overall. So I started to eat a somewhat cleaner diet.

But the universe was speaking to me more and more loudly and showing me more signs and synchronicities that I needed to take things a step further.

I started seeing more and more about the vegetarian diet. It started with an article here, or a random conversation there…

Then I came across a Youtuber that was a very well-known vegetarian. He talked in detail about the benefits of the diet, and he and his friends that were living the vegetarian lifestyle all looked so healthy and youthful. They were all glowing and looked so radiant.

But I still wasn’t 100% sold because a sista loved her meat (smile).

It would be a huge sacrifice and meat was all I knew since childhood. And I just didn’t want to give it up.

So fast forward a few months and I’m still not sold. Then I get a phone call from my Mom saying that she was starting a vegetarian diet to become healthier. At this point, I told the creator and the universe:

I HEAR YOU!

The signs were loud and clear. This was the final confirmation and I knew what had to be done.

The transition was a process. I definitely had to adjust and find my flow. But after some weeks, it was less and less of a struggle. And after a while, it felt second nature to me.

So my decision to stop eating meat, along with the other healthier choices I incorporated into my diet (i.e. fruits, vegetables, whole grains), all the while exercising more, led to my 25 pound weight loss over the course of a few months.

I lost the weight which was great…

But I gained soo much more.

In the process I learned discipline, delayed gratification, and impulse control. I also became more spiritually aligned and more in tune with my higher self.

So if you are thinking about becoming a vegetarian, or simply want to lose weight, here is your sign from the universe.

Do it! I promise you…it’s life changing..in many ways.

Comment below if you are ready to make the transition.

weight loss
1

About the Creator

Erin Mixon

I am a blogger and inspirational writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.