Longevity logo

How ASMR Can Transform You

What is ASMR, where it came from, the symptoms, and the benefits of listening to it?

By Shamar MPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How ASMR Can Transform You
Photo by Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR) videos are new to my life. Many friends and family members had recommended these videos a while back — constantly banging on how amazing they felt afterward. I simply just nodded my head and carried on with my day.

These past few weeks I’ve been experiencing an abundance of stress looking for a place to move out, selling my car, and trying to find a new job. Usually, sleeping is not a problem for me but due to these three factors, I’m struggling.

So, I decided to go onto YouTube and put on some ASMR. After a few seconds of scrolling, I decided to click the video that resonated with me the most which were a red-haired lady tapping bowls for an hour. Sounds weird, I know.

Almost instantly, I was put into a trance. My body felt relaxed, my eyes felt heavy, my brain went all soft, it felt as if the music was bouncing from one ear to the other, I felt weak and my feet had soft pins and needles. It didn’t take long for me and my good friend Mr. Sleep, to meet again.

Where did ASMR come from?

Personally, I heard about ASMR a few years ago and the vast majority of videos available upon the subject at the time was regarding whispering. In fact, ASMR University state that there were a bunch of early ASMR artists on YouTube from 2009–2012.

However, the term ASMR has only been coined fairly recently in 2010 by Jennifer Allen. She had discovered a group of people on an online forum who had all been experiencing ASMR sensations but didn’t know it yet. Jennifer then proceeded to create a few online social media groups in order to bring together a community of people and also create a term that she felt people would be comfortable using: one that sounded objective, clinical, and impersonal.

To this date, ASMR is the second most googled term in America and the third most googled term worldwide.

What are the common triggers of ASMR?

Individuals describe ASMR as a feel-good, tingling sensation that begins in the scalp which happens also instantly, also known as ‘brain tingles’. Just know that all effects are positive and feel magical — like you’ve been put in a trance. Did you know that not everyone actually can experience ASMR sensations? I can swear when I first heard an ASMR whisper video, the most it did was creep me out — but now it sends weird but beautiful sensations all over my body.

A study with 130 people reported these common triggers — soft touch, whispering, soft speaking, close personal attention, delicate hand movements, and crisp sounds. My personal favorites are; hair brushing, nails, and singing bowls. Additionally, aspects such as timing, atmosphere, and characteristics of ASMR content can also be factors. People can also experience visual triggers such as stroking a pet, paint mixing, folding laundry, and hand movements.

What is the science behind ASMR?

ASMR affects your brain. However, there isn’t that much scientific evidence to back it. Considering the term was only coined 11 years ago and valuable ground-breaking research can take many years to publish, I’m not surprised.

However, in 2016 a study was conducted comparing individuals who experience ASMR against controls. It was found that those in the ASMR group had increased connectivity in certain regions of their brain, and reduced connectivity in others.

Another study published in 2018 looked at 10 participants who were watching ASMR videos whilst hooked to an fMRI machine. Results showed that ASMR tingling was associated with increased activation in brain regions involved in emotion, empathy and suggested that ASMR activates neurological pathways involved in socioemotional bonding (an individual’s relationship with society and their emotions).

Overall benefits of ASMR

From personal experience, ASMR has helped me get to sleep quickly — very quickly. Sometimes when I begin to feel stressed I will play an ASMR video which helps greatly in calming me down and can even trigger positive thinking.

Research from 2018 found that ASMR helps people:

1. Feel better when sick/upset.

2. Unwind and relax.

3. Experience less anxiety.

4. Feel comforted.

The Takeaway

Honestly, ASMR is highly recommended by me. Here is a list of the most common types of ASMR videos that you can find on the internet; nails, whispering, healing/singing bowls, crisp sounds, and hair brushing.

Hopefully, you now have an insight as to what ASMR is, where it comes from and you might be enticed to try it. Please bear in mind that ASMR is not a cure for any disorder/stress you are currently experiencing, is not a replacement for any medication and it you may not even experience it at all.

Originally published on Medium: https://medium.com/mind-cafe/how-asmr-can-transform-you-fa3cc2fb3293

self care
Like

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.