Longevity logo

Help Yourself and Others with a New Hobby

Break up your busy life, maintain balance, and rejuvenate your body and soul with a new active hobby.

By Patricia SarkarPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Photo by StockSnap, CC0

It’s a fact that modern life is busier now than it ever has been before, with most people struggling to maintain a daily balance between work, family and a social life. It can often feel like there isn’t enough time left over to dedicate to a personal interest, whether that be pursuing something creative or a favorite sport. Recently, I noticed this in my life and decided that I needed to do something about it. Surprisingly, I found that rather than leaving me with even less time, keeping up a regular hobby helped me to realize the full potential of my day and ultimately, made me feel more relaxed and on top of things. It even gave me a new opportunity to help others, too!

So, where to start? Well, a new hobby doesn’t have to “fit in” with your job, your friends, or your chosen image. In fact, it can be something totally different from your usual way of life. Professional poker player Robbie Strazynski, for example, turned his love of a great run at the poker table into a love of running as exercise and an opportunity to give back to a cause he believes in. As somebody who also spends a lot of their day sat behind a desk, I thought I’d follow suit and choose an active, outdoorsy activity to rejuvenate my body and mind. Many people find running is a great way to clear your head and get back in touch with your body, but I wanted to do something a little less intense. I chose trail walking, as it is excellent exercise but also gets you out and about in nature.

One of the best things I found about starting my new hobby was that it gave me a specific block of time carved out of my week to dedicate solely to myself. This may sound selfish, but it’s been proven that “me-time” is essential for maintaining a well-balanced mind. In my head, if I knew that I was dedicating those specific hours to my hobby, then it allowed me to take some valuable time to myself without feeling like I was being unproductive. Then, once I got back from a walk, I could carry on with my tasks with more confidence and peace of mind. Later, this led to an opportunity to give back to others by taking on sponsored walks, giving me a win-win situation in which I knew my hobby was benefitting my health, and allowing me to help others, too!

Equally, taking time out of a busy schedule to engage in a calming, mindful activity like knitting or gardening can be beneficial. The repetitive motion of knitting and the satisfaction of the finished product can provide long-lasting benefits like feelings of contentment, more self-assurance, and a rekindling of your passion for life. It can often feel like our creativity is being stifled by a busy schedule, but it’s critical that we express ourselves to feel better and live better. Even taking a few minutes out of your day to shoot a few photos, draw a few sketches, or put a few more stitches on your latest project will have you feeling happier for the rest of the day!

self care

About the Creator

Patricia Sarkar

Raised on a steady diet of makeup and games. Eager to share my experiences with the world and make a difference, article by article! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patricia SarkarWritten by Patricia Sarkar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.