Longevity logo

Floss Not the Dance 🦷🪥

Clean the Purely Whites

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Floss your teeth this Spring!

So it’s spring cleaning once again! 🧹

Along with cleaning we cannot forget this special item. Our teeth!

They have to be as white as snow before they break off and you look like a pirate going on your 100th voyage.

Teeth are essential trust me. Nobody wants to taste bad morning breathe in the morning. You got to clean them bad boys.

When I was younger we had jokes about yellow teeth, now all our teeth are tinted like an undercover cop’s Windows.

Some of those jokes went like this.

“Your teeth so yellow that when you came into the church they sang This Little light of mine.”

Or...

“Your teeth so yellow they look like the crayon from the Corolla box.”

Now the jokes hurt more. Grown ups do you hear anybody our age making these jokes?

Nope! Cause we all know the burdens of paying a dental bill or finding a dentist when we get kicked off our folks’ insurance when we turn 25.

According to kidshealth.org, “After you eat, bacteria go crazy over the sugar on your teeth, like ants at a picnic. The bacteria break it down into acids that eat away tooth enamel, causing holes called cavities. Plaque also causes gingivitis (say: jin-juh-VY-tis), which is gum disease that can make your gums red, swollen, and sore. Your gums are those soft pink tissues in your mouth that hold your teeth in place.”

Start seeing your gums, your teeth as muscles. If you do not regularly work out, when you go back to the gym you will be in more pain. Simply your muscles are getting use to the heavy weights again and are stretching and pulling. You will be hurt for days as the muscles break down protein attempting to build onto itself.

Same goes for teeth. If you do not exercise the habit of regularly brushing and flossing, when you get back around to doing it it will hurt.

So, for this spring that is my tip to us all. Make sure you floss. If you do not do it regularly your gums can bleed and can cause severe disease. Also get a solid toothbrush to really clean your teeth.

I remember once when I was at the dentist and they flossed my teeth. My gums hurt and when I saw blood on the floss I was like Oh no! I neglected taking care of my teeth and seen the results. It’s not too late to practice good hygiene and properly care for your teeth.

You do not want to be called yuck mouth or any other jokes.

This kid at my school was like why youth teeth yellow. Buddy is in kindergarten and I’m like hold up now. I was like your teeth yellow too and why your head small. His teeth are white but you make a joke I’m talking back with my tented window teeth. They whiter now though.

Who really wants dentures? I’m 28 and I need all my teeth. But with our bodies, we can be so caught up with the fast pace of life that we forget to care for ourselves. That does include our teeth. Something so small can be a bigger task than we perceive.

Parents remind your children to take care of themselves both mentally and physically. A healthy body helps you have a healthy mind. How you see yourself in the mirror will determine how you see the world.

Let me tell you that you are beautiful and are worth it. You are a 10/10 and the mirror shows the true you that I want you to embrace. To the young person, the youth reading this, keep your head up high. Do not settle, brush them teeth, and keep on smiling.

mr._hotspot “You smile goood! I like thatttt! Ahehehahahaaaaaa!”

body

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.