Longevity logo

Five Ways to Protect Your Energy and Sanity When You Are Surrounded by Toxic People

You owe it to yourself to protect your energy and sanity in all circumstances

By ParagPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Five Ways to Protect Your Energy and Sanity When You Are Surrounded by Toxic People
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

"You Are The Average Of The Five People You Spend The Most Time With"

No matter strong you are, the people you surround yourself with will have a significant impact on your life.

This is because each of us has an energetic signature that is unique to us. But our energy is subject to constant influences from the environment which consists of the people around us, the spaces we inhabit, the stuff we read, what we listen, and what we eat.

If you are want to live a healthy and joyful life, it will help to a very large extent to spend maximum time in a healthy and high vibration environment and with positive supportive people. But what if you are stuck with toxic people and the situation is unlikely to change, at least in the short term?

I've dealt with such situations plenty of times in life. After suffering a great deal I came up with a few simple techniques to insulate myself from the toxicity in my environment and protect my energy as well as sanity.

1. Music

"Headphones in; world out"

So simple and yet so true. I've got several playlists for different times of the day. One for breakfast, one for the shower, one in the evening, one before going to bed, and a few random playlists for other times of the day.

After listening to the same playlists day after day, I felt like I was in a relationship with the music. The music became a companion. It formed a trusted virtual layer between me and my physical environment.

The kingdom of music is not the kingdom of this world; it will accept those whom breeding and intellect and culture have alike rejected. The commonplace person begins to play, and shoots into the empyrean without effort, whilst we look up, marvelling how he has escaped us. ~ A Room With A View by E. M. Forster

I have felt low on confidence for a very long time and my environment was pushing me down even further. It came to a point where I felt like I was fighting a losing battle. I felt completely helpless to change my circumstances. It was at this time that I put the song, Eye of the Tiger, from Rocky III in my breakfast playlist. I'd start my day with that song and a few other motivating as well as confidence inducing songs from a Youtube channel called Fearless Soul.

"Let the music speak to us of to-night, in a happier language than ours." ~ The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

When I feel low, I listen to Dancing Queen by Abba, and Madonna's La Isla Bonita. When I need energy and a bit of shaking up, my medicine is the title song from the movie Footloose. While working, it is usually Anoushka Shankar's Sitar music.

Over time, I've figured out what works for me in different moods. Music

2. Videos

The Internet is a universe in itself and while many people take jibes at popular video sites for cat videos, that's not all they contain. There are tons of great quality videos. I have a list of channels that I've subscribed to where people speak, from their own personal experience, about how to overcome the challenges that I'm currently dealing with in life. So, whatever challenge you are dealing with, there's a good chance that someone else has dealt with that challenge and has spoken about it on Youtube or elsewhere.

When I was stuck upto my neck in troubling situations, I felt very alone and isolated. I felt like I was the only one who had to go through all these problems. This feeling of isolation and helplessness makes the situation even more challenging. However, when I started watching videos by other people who had dealt with similar situations, I realized that I was not alone. I could feel a connection with the speaker even though we had never met. By listening to their struggles and how they had overcome them, I not only felt a sense of companionship and hope but I also got clear ideas for steps I could take to deal with my own challenges.

When I watch these videos, it is as if I am in a magical and healing theater of my own that is distanced and different from my physical environment. It's a place I often go to for healing, inspiration, and concrete suggestions to deal with the real-life situation confounding me.

3. Books

I've never known any trouble than an hour's reading didn't assuage. -- Arthur Schopenhauer

Maybe a bit of an exageration but it still comes very close to the truth. There's even a whole field of healing called Bibliotherapy -- or healing with books.

A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge. ~ A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Books can transport you into a whole new world taking you away from your trouble for some time. It's not escapism. It's a break to help you recharge your batteries. At the very least, a good book will give you much-needed respite, and at best, it can expand your perspective and help you emerge a stronger sharper person with an expanded mind.

Once when I was in a really low state, I picked a book that had brought me joy in high-school. Reading the book brought back fond memories of better times and gave me a shot of energy and much needed hope to deal with my current problems. Sometimes, victory is just getting through the day unscathed.

Books—the generous friends who met me without suspicion—the merciful masters who never used me ill! ~ Armadale by Wilkie Collins

At one point, I realized that I completely lacked self-love. I used to give myself away to people who treated me badly and yet expected the world from me. It took me a long time to realize this. Much damage had already been done when I finally figured it out but the awareness of the problem did not magically make it go away. I had created a certain habit of self-abnegation for a very long time and changing proved to be extremely difficult. It took a few years of reading book after book on self love to create that inner transformation to really be able to love myself and look out for myself.

"Books are the mirrors of the soul." ~ Between the Acts by Virginia Woolf

So reach out for a book and enter into your own paradise to recharge, gain wise counsel, and come back stronger to deal with your real world issues.

4. Nature

The course of Nature is the art of God. -—Edward Young

Nature has it's own energy and the energy of nature is almost always in tune with the Divine energy. Spending some time in nature can revive your spirit, brighten your mood, and release your burdens. Look at the green, listen to the birds, and breathe in the fresh air. If you are not able to do this, for whetever reason, then simply look at the sky during the day and night and let your troubles fade away in the vastness of the cosmos.

The groves were God's first temples. -—William Cullen Bryant

Nature has always helped me clear my energy when it was starting to get too affected by the environment. Nature and the sky will always hold you in their embrace and soothe you. Turn to them in difficult circumstances. They are godsend healers.

5. Journaling

When we write, we touch the core of authority within ourselves. We free our natural, native voice that is tied to the innate power within us. -- Mark Matousek

Journaling has been my lifeline, along with music, during the most difficult times of my life. It has immense power when done regularly.

I have maintained some sort of daily notes for a very long time but for the greater part these notes were to-do lists, important events that happened during the day, and names of people I met. Once in a while I would also brainstorm on paper but it was rare.

it was only after reading Julia Cameron's book, The Artist's Way, that I realized the full power of journaling. After that I started experimenting with several types of journaling.

“This pouring thoughts out on paper has relieved me. I feel better and full of confidence and resolution.” -- Diet Eman, Things We Couldn't Say

When I was overwhelmed by my problems, I would write them about them in my journal. Just the act of writing often relieved me. I'm sure you have all experienced something similar in real life when you feel relieved simply by discussing a problem with a friend. It's the same principle at work. A problem becomes magnified when we constantly churn it in the mind, but if we write about it in a journal it finds an outlet. The problem seems smaller, we feel more confident to handle it, and sometimes writing about a problem also creates constructive insights into possible solutions.

“Your Journal is like your bestfriend, You don't have to pretend with it, you can be honest and write exactly how you feel” -- Bukola Ogunwale

But it wasn't just problems that I wrote in my journal. Often times, I wrote whatever came to my mind. It was a simple exercise in self-expression. This helped me find solace when I wasn't able to express myself in real life.

I also faced my phobias in my journal. When I realized that I was sacred of facing some aspect of my life, I'd face it in my journal. I would imagine and write a scene of me facing the fear. I realized that if I did this a few times, I had more courage to face the real situations that aroused fear in me.

Over time, my journal became my friend and guide. And journaling became a practice that insulated me from my environment, helped me protect my energy, and also a place where I recorded and celebrated the small wins amidst difficult situations.

Your victory is right around the corner. Never give up. Nicki Minaj

These are a few of the things that have helped me. If you are in a similar situation, I hope you find inspiration from this article to tailor these concepts to your needs and circumstances.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Parag

Finally, I can say that I am a writer - although I'm still figuring out the genres in which I'd like to write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.