Longevity logo

Finding Meaning and Fulfillment in Everyday Life

Embracing the Beauty of the Ordinary

By Sarah DanielPublished 4 days ago 3 min read

Mediocre or average means moderately okay. I interpret mediocrity as a manifestation of fear shared by many, including myself. In the past, I despised and refused to embrace mediocrity, to be someone who isn’t lacking, yet not exceptionally good either, just mediocre.

Previously, in a world filled with ambition and towering skyscrapers, being mediocre felt like a sin to me. The nightmare seemed all too real when I realized that slowly but surely, I was becoming mediocre myself. Initially, it induced feelings of nausea and self-irritation, not understanding how or why I transformed into an ordinary individual.

Since childhood, I believed I was quite special. I often topped my class, possessed writing and drawing skills, and easily mingled with others. I thought I was anything but ordinary. At least, that’s what I always believed until the age of 17, when reality hit me hard. I, who had always felt special, turned out to be just an ordinary individual; my abilities were not on par with others.

At the beginning of my twenties, I still couldn’t accept being just an average human being. To me, the idea of mediocrity was frightening. Neither too attractive nor repulsive. Mediocrity makes us easily replaceable yet not captivating enough to be noticed.

I felt the need to prove my worth, competing with others to the point of unknowingly harming myself in pursuit of being perceived as extraordinary. The more I tried to surpass others, the more I lost myself. I felt envious of other’s achievements. Ambition consumed me from within, leading to frustration and self-isolation whenever my efforts failed.

It felt immensely shameful to fail, to appear ordinary in front of extraordinary individuals.

Read More: A Woman’s Disturbing Discovery After Nine Years with Her Gynecologist

Years of striving and experiencing numerous failures made me question the meaning of mediocrity. Were all my efforts and achievements in vain? Was I living for myself or for the acknowledgment of others? Who was I competing with? Is being ordinary a grave sin? And ultimately, what am I striving for?

I eventually realized that there’s no definitive standard to determine whether a person is mediocre or exceptional. There’s no law that will penalize us for simply being human and leading an ordinary life. Sure, some people may scoff and belittle, but why should we care? After all, it’s not their life we’re living.

There’s nothing wrong with being unremarkable and having high ambitions. It’s okay to enjoy our surroundings. It’s okay to have a salary that matches our age. It’s okay to be an ordinary worker. It’s okay not to have a million in savings at 23. It’s okay not to own a house at 25. It’s okay not to be married at our current age. It’s okay to dream of a peaceful life away from the hustle and bustle of the city. No one will be disappointed or angry just because you’re living life slowly, like any other human being.

I realized that we have full control over how we interpret the life we live, whether it brings happiness or misery. We understand and know how hard we’ve tried. We determine whether the results will be exceptional or in vain.

Read More: Do You Remember the World’s Youngest Mother?

I learned that the key to overcoming the fear of mediocrity is to close our ears, reflect, and be grateful. Looking back, I realize I’ve spent more time seeking recognition from others than doing something for myself. I’ve tried to outdo others in a race that I’ve been running alone, and the variety of achievements I’ve attained is something extraordinary, at least to myself and my family.

Currently, I strive to always remember that blessings are not exchangeable or misplaced. I try to focus more on my own journey rather than watching others’ footsteps. I learn to appreciate and enjoy every process I go through. Just as others don’t know my efforts, I don’t know what others have sacrificed to achieve something. I don’t know their prayers or efforts, I don’t know Allah’s plans. But, I know that at this moment, I am striving to be better.

So, I’ve come to the conclusion that being mediocre isn’t as bad as it seems. Truly, we just need to live life as uniquely as our own version, and for me, being able to eat well, having sufficient sustenance, sleeping soundly, and surviving alone are things worth being grateful for.

Read More: Why Selena Gomez and Benny Blanco Kept their Relationship Secret

lifestylefact or fictionbeautyadvice

About the Creator

Sarah Daniel

Writer, blogger, activist. Blog, Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah DanielWritten by Sarah Daniel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.