Longevity logo

Fat-Burning Foods for a Healthier Lifestyle!

Here are some of my favorite fat-burning foods!

By Amy SaylorPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Fat burning foods

Well, 2018 fast approached, and the most common resolution for New Years is to eat more healthy! Here is a list of some fat-burning foods that I like to eat to help me on that healthier lifestyle! Read on below to see some of my favorite foods that help burn fat and what they include to help you live a healthier lifestyle! Honestly, after figuring out what I want as a new year's resolution and looking up healthier foods, snacks, and even recipes to make that are healthier, I did not realize what these foods actually contained and how they help not only the body, but also the weight factor.

Salmon:

Contains protein to help build muscle for efficient fat burning. Fish is just a better source for you, all around. I love seafood and eat tilapia and tuna often!

Blueberries and Oatmeal:

Both contain soluble fiber to help you feel full longer. Blueberries aren't really a super favorite of mine, but I can eat them, especially on top of the plain Greek yogurt. Oatmeal, on the other hand, is really good if it's made a certain way, and something I usually put on my oatmeal is syrup, LOL (I know way too much sugar), so with all that aside on my journey, I'll have to cut that out!

Apples:

Contains pectin, which limits the amount of fat your body absorbs. Who doesn't love apples?! I don't think I need to say much about this one. :)

Hot Peppers (I love anything spicy, so this one helps a lot):

Help increase metabolism and speed up the conversion of belly fat to energy. I am a huge fan of jalapeños and eat them right out of the jar sometimes!

Bananas:

Have high amounts of soluble fiber that help slow down digestion. Bananas are great to eat just as a snack or on top of yogurt, or even with oatmeal! (Kill two birds with one stone)

Mushrooms (Another fave of mine):

Are low in calories and fat, and they contain potassium for improving your blood pressure. I normally sauté my mushrooms, but although soy sauce contains a lot of salt, I can still eat mushrooms, regardless if they are a fungi. LOL!

Eggs (I eat these almost every morning):

Contain healthy fats and good cholesterol. They are also a good source of lean protein that can help burn fat throughout the day. Now, let me just say, FRESH EGGS are so much better than store bought!

Chicken Breast (A main source of my dinner servings):

Are high in quality protein which can help you build lean muscle. Eating chicken, or any poultry, for that matter, will help increase the serotonin levels in your brain, help you sleep better, and also soothe over stress.

Greek Yogurt:

Contains higher amounts of protein and less sugar than regular yogurt (ie: healthier). :) I normally buy Greek yogurt that has flavors, although plain is better for you!

Broccoli:

Low in calories, but high in nutrients and fiber. Broccoli contains a vitamin called FOLATE which has been found to reduce the risk of breast cancer in women. Also, eating this yummy vegetable has also helped reduce the risk of colon cancer as well as lung cancer. I normally eat broccoli plain (as a snack) or, sometimes, I sauté it with my main source of protein.

Kidney Beans:

Rich in iron, Potassium, and magnesium. Beans contain a vitamin called Thiamin, which is also known as Vitamin B1 (this vitamin helps maintain memory). I eat beans with just about every meal (doesn't matter what kind of beans they are).

Olive Oil and Kale (I put kale or spinach in my green shakes and they are so yummy!):

Has a high amount of antioxidants and also can fight off inflammatory diseases like obesity.

And last but not least—

Cinnamon:

One tablespoon of cinnamon can help regulate your blood sugar! They say a warm cup of water with lemon, honey, and cinnamon also can help you lose weight! I've tried it but haven't kept it up enough consistently to see change.

Now, there are a lot more fat burning foods that you can eat, but these are just a few that I really enjoy! I made a resolution this year to eat more healthy, so I plan on posting up some of the recipes I have made. Looking into this new year, I plan on eating a bit more healthy (no one likes packing on those pounds, and for some, it is awfully hard to lose the weight that you have put on). Exercising and eating right is the most important way to shed the excess weight that you don't want to have anymore. These past couple of years, it has been a struggle, and I am always looking for new advice and ways to help make my journey easier.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Amy Saylor

Hey y'all! I'm new to this, so hopefully y'all enjoy my content :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.