Longevity logo

Exercising At Home

How To Stay Motivated

By Debbie McCarthyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Debbie's Home Gym

This morning I forced myself out of my cozy nest and made myself a coffee while I watched CTV Newsnet. After my second cup I took a deep breath and said 'Get it done girl'. I pulled on my new pair of Lululemon capris and an old t-shirt. Grabbing the overflowing basket of dirty clothes, I made my way downstairs. I threw in a load of whites and turned on the lights to my rumpus room. Stepping over the mostly-done fifteen hundred piece puzzle and Lego world that was created last week, I grabbed my shoes, turned on my TV and got to it.

I love my home gym. The 'Gym' is in one section of my basement. I used Comfort Living Flooring Tiles (purchased from Canadian Tire) as a foam floor over the concrete. The walls are painted grey and match the flooring which was totally by accident but looks good. In one corner is a closet that I tore apart and, until I have the means to replace the wallboard, is where I use a nail to hold the long bands for my alternative exercise to pull ups. The TV and motivational phrases are within sight. A hand-me-down bookshelf holds the different workout plans and equipment that I use every day.

My gym does not have the fancy machines or equipment found at a brick and mortar gym but it has everything that I require. I started out with a light set of dumbbells, a yoga ball and mat. Over time, I have added two different styles of bands and a heavier set of dumbbells. This Christmas I gifted myself a year-long subscription to Beachbody.com and signed up for Kim Constables 8-Week Butt Camp. While all these items and plans are fantastic, they are a waste of money if I am not using them.

Motivation can come from many different sources. For some, it will be watching the physical transformation of a plus-size movie star that you resemble. Or the moment when a friend comments 'You can still fit your Grad dress?' at your high school reunion. Or when you don't feel like flinching and sucking in when your partner wraps their arms around your waist. Possibly it's a health scare that propels you to take action. Those are all moments that can get you started.

However, sustained motivation takes more than what got you going. There will be days when it feels like the universe is working against you. Appointments, kids, work and the morning you wake up after drinking a bottle of wine and know without a doubt that you aren't going to be able to workout types of days are going to interfere with your plans. Perseverance is getting back at it the next day. And the next day that inevitably comes without beating yourself up or giving in to the idea that 'I'll never get where I want to be anyway.'

Staying motivated when you are all by yourself is not easy. Squeezing into clothes that fit properly before I broke my foot was a good incentive to take my fitness seriously. Adding a few extra pounds after a year of staying inside and apart from others sent me into a panic. As much as I was worried about my expanding waistline, making the effort every day to be active was still hard. I found that the key to keep making the trip to the basement was to figure out how I needed to feel. It wasn't what I expected.

While I want to look great in a bikini, fit whatever clothes I try on and feel attractive when out for dinner, what I really want is to be My Best Self. Whether that is a size 12 or a size 2. My idea of being My Best Self is an equal balance of mind, spirit and body. When those three aspects are in harmony, I feel like I can do anything! Our physical body is one piece of the beautiful creation that we are and yet is often the aspect that we struggle with caring for the most. With this in mind, I shifted the focus from looking good towards supporting my physical body as part of the trifecta that makes me feel whole.

When I hear Tony Horton cheer me on or Autumn reminds me to control my breathing, I know that I am not alone on this journey. When receive another email from Kim Constable or look at the pictures in Muscle and Health magazine, I am inspired to remember how I like to feel. Strong, capable and healthy are as important to me as feeling smart, kind, loving and lovable.

I felt proud of myself when I learned how to use a skill saw and when I wrote my first book. I feel calm when I meditate. I feel joy when I celebrate the changing of the seasons. I love the feeling of sweat dripping down my back after pumping out twenty push-ups. I love it when I am able to complete an exercise on 80 Day Obsession that I have never tried before. I love it when my thighs burn when I remove the highest resistance band and I know that I have pushed myself beyond what I thought capable. Staying motivated to keep myself active requires a constant drum beating inside me that reminds me that I Am Worth The Effort, as are you. You deserve to be Your Best Self too.

In those moments when I look into the mirror after my workout and see my bangs sticking up haphazardly, ponytail falling apart, sweaty shirt clinging to my body and my face red and blotchy.... I am super grateful that I am in my home gym.

fitness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.