Longevity logo

Exercise Is the Weapon for Life's Hazardous Journey

Life is a hazardous journey. Exercise is our weapon for success.

By Robert GallantPublished 8 years ago 5 min read
Like

When I decided to write fiction novels, I spent a lot of time studying novels that were, in my opinion, the best. Then, I realized that virtually all of them had the same plot. Here's how it goes:

An individual or a small group have headed out on a journey. Often, the journey was thrust upon them, like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz; Luke Skywalker in the Star Wars saga; and the daughters in Little Women. Every Walt Disney cartoon movie featured an individual on a journey. Often, they encounter someone who becomes a mentor. They accumulate some friends who help them and encounter enemies who, for their own purposes, do not want the journey to be successful.

So why do all novels start with the same plot?

Because every one of us is also on a journey. Everyday, life is a journey. We encounter mentors, accumulate friends, and face dangerous enemies.

Our enemies are often nagging health problems, financial setbacks, loss of close friends, dreams that don't quite work out, family issues, and weight problems that refuse to go away.

We sure could use Luke Skywalker's lightsaber... or a mentor.

I realized I had benefitted from mentors on several occasions. When I was in my thirties, my doctor said that since I had type two diabetes on both sides of my family, I would very likely develop it in my fifties or sixties. He said I had two weapons. Weight control and Exercise.

So I was face to face with a Darth Vader that wanted to destroy me.

Photo via Titanova

Exercise became my lightsaber. I bought a treadmill, began exercising thirty minutes every morning when I got up, banished potato chips and donuts, went for long walks in the evening with my wife Margie, walked stairs rather than taking the elevator, and lost ten pounds.

My dad and my older brother both developed diabetes in their fifties and died of complications in their seventies. Today I am 81 year old, and still no sign of diabetes. I am convinced that exercise kept me from having diabetes. My twin brother Bill also developed a strong health regimen. He is free of diabetes and still plays tennis twice a week. He and his wife Vicki take long walks together and attend exercise classes.

Unfortunately, even though my wife Margie did everything right health-wise, she developed serious health problems and passed away in 2013 after a lengthy battle. Again, a mentor appeared. My sister-in-law Michelle convinced me to start doing my extensive exercising at the local Midland Community Center, which had exercise equipment, exercise classes, and excellent fitness instructors. The Community Center became both my exercise center and my social center, where people encouraged each other, helped others develop heathy lifestyles, and provided social interfaces.

One man told me that he originally smoked heavily and weighed 300 pounds. He realized he was setting a terrible example for his son. He quit smoking and lost 100 pounds. His son was in the eighth grade and making excellent grades. I told him that the example he set made his son both know how much he loved him and also encouraged his son to be equally determined to excel at what he did. Tears came to the eyes of the man and he told me, "Thank you for saying that. It means so much to me." We need to remember that our lightsaber can be as simple as a compliment or a word of encouragement.

Photo via Holder Impeachment

Sometimes the journey that is forced upon us and seems unfair can lay the groundwork for future journey successes...

I grew up on a farm in Ohio. While in the first grade, I suffered a serious eye injury. It required two operations. Then World War II began and most of the doctors went into the military. My health began deteriorating. The doctor said I might not survive another winter. So my Dad, who was a school teacher, began looking for a job in Florida, hoping that avoiding the winters might enable me to survive. Then the war ended and the eye doctor returned. He concluded there was an infection behind my eye and they needed to remove the eye in order to attack the infection. My Dad also received a job offer at a high school in Tampa, Florida. So he sold the farm and we moved to Tampa after surgery to remove the eye.

My health dramatically improved. The high school we attended was much better academically than the country school we would have attended in Ohio. I had outstanding grades in science and math and so I applied for scholarships at universities to major in Engineering. But they all turned me down, saying that with only one eye, I probably would not be able to handle the academic demands and very likely no company would hire me. So I went to University of Florida and still majored in Engineering. I was on a journey and I refused to be denied. I graduated with good grades, was hired by the Dow Chemical Company, and spent 40 very successful years in challenging technology.

The early part of my journey was brutal, but it taught me to never give up and to believe in my ability to successfully complete the journey. When the doctor said I would eventually have diabetes, I grabbed ahold of my Exercise Saber and I told Darth Vader, alias the diabetes, "You are not going to interfere with my journey".

Someone asked me how I can always be smiling when I come into the Community Center. I said that when I wake up in the morning, I look to my left. If I'm not in a grave, I look to my right. If I'm not in a hospital bed, I jump up, clap my hands, and say, "It's going to be a great day." And then I start exercising.

So keep your Exercise Saber handy and keep your eyes on the journey ahead.

agingfitnesshumanity
Like

About the Creator

Robert Gallant

Had a successful 40 year career in technology. The 81 year old now writes fiction novels and focuses on exercising to stay healthy and young in spirit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.