Longevity logo

Do You Want Convenience or Better Health?

The Dangers of Instant Gratification When It Comes to Your Health.

By Edward FayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Do You Want Convenience or Better Health?
Photo by Vitalii Pavlyshynets on Unsplash

I'd Like to start by saying, I am just as much human as anyone else. I like to indulge in my favorite guilty pleasure foods like a juicy steak. However, in my day-to-day routine, I eat very well-balanced meals and pay attention to the nutrients I am putting in my body.

Things like soda and salt don’t exist in my house nor do gluten-free bread and baked goods. I avoid sugar as much as possible. At 30 years of age, my weight is normal for my height, my annual physicals are always normal, and my blood pressure is, well you guessed it normal.

Why do I bother when the grocery stores are full of foods that are jam-packed with additives, preservatives, and chemicals most can't pronounce?

Well... mainly, eating right and getting the proper nutrition, and avoiding additives give me peace of mind and make me feel great. It's also because I consistently compete in physique competitions which are heavily judged on appearance and low body fat percentage. . My energy levels are high, I sleep soundly every night, and don't sick as often as most people my age, I avoid costly medical expenses.

It just makes sense to me.

Here's a century-old saying: "When diet is bad, medicine does not work; When diet is good, medicine is irrelevant." ~Ayurvedic Proverb

Does that make sense?

At first, eating healthier is not easy. You've got to go through each item to see what it's made of but eventually, you will learn what to buy and what is better for you. Eight years ago I was 300 pounds and had a body fat percentage that would give doctors a heart attack. What I’m getting at is you can do it also. With the proper information.

I have done it this way for so long now that my shopping time is no longer than anyone else's.

Need more convincing?

Well... common things sold in stores can do serious harm to your body. Here are just a few ingredients:

MSG - linked to headaches and hypertension.

Food coloring - has been suspected of causing increased hyperactivity in children. Also, the dye Yellow No. 5 has been thought to worsen asthma symptoms. Red dye No. 5 has been banned due to its link to cancer.

High-fructose corn syrup - thought to be a main cause of Obesity and possibly Type 2 Diabetes.

So, my advice?. Watch what you are eating. Read the labels. Do some research (Google). This applies to medicine also. Take care of yourself. I guaranty your family and friends want you around as long as possible.

I remember my doctor years ago when I was dangerously overweight asked me if I wanted to have a family one day. To which I replied yes. The statement he made next shocked me to my core. He told me if you keep going down the road you are none of that will happened. Hinting at the obvious. Simply put I was dying and instead of saying here is some Lipitor and go exercise he wired me with reasons. To this day I believe that is what saved my life. If you are reading this and you are someone you are struggling to achieve their wellness goals please know I have so much respect for you and believe you can do it. It’s not easy but it’s worth every bit of effort you put into it. You’re worth it.

Edward Fay is a Physique Competitor, Entrepreneur, and Writer. Before moving to the Sarasota FL area. Indiana, I lived all over the world for 20 years before I had the privilege of making Florida my forever home. I like to travel but spend most of my time enjoying the beach year-round.

body
Like

About the Creator

Edward Fay

For the last eight years, I've been an entrepreneur in financial services while pursuing my passion for fitness by competing in bodybuilding competitions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.