Longevity logo

Diabetes Mellitus (DM)

Is it here to beat us

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Diabetes Mellitus (DM)
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

DM and me, I will cuss, and fuss and it won’t be pretty Hon.

No fuss really, just a bus. A school bus for some type 1. No problem, just not much fun.

Getting type 1, was called juvenile diabetes. Some could be babies, others were a bit older Hon.

Either way, no fun.

With prediabetes there is always signs.

There was no prediabetes class for me, I did whine. I was told no such thing as prediabetes at the time.

They said, it is like being a little pregnant. I attended the class twice. Many years later is when I went.

My A1C went down and exercising and eating got better, so the class did make a dent from that event.

Some have gestational too. It takes time to get a clue.

What to do pregnant I sigh. Gestational is only when pg that is why.

Insulin is often necessary to get through and this too is rough.

As pregnancy can be tough enough.

I have 20 years of type 2. Believe me, I don’t like it Boo.

I was in my 40’s, still way too young. It made me want to run too, but I hung in there,

I was waiting for the cure, that is still not here.

And I shed many a tear for fear it would never get here, the cure.

Thirst was not my clue, it didn't come out of the blue. Another sign is giving birth to 9+ pound babies and for me, that was true.

Hypoglycemia is another sign and not one of mine. Going to the bathroom is not the only sign diabetes is here.

Tiredness is always near. Acanthosis nigricans, oh man.

Itchiness was one of my signs and fuzzy vision, yes it was clear diabetes was here.

I knew and still did not exercise either, no changed diet neither.

It forces a person though, to learn to live right, you know.

Food changes, exercise too, testing, shots, and pills, who knew,

you don’t feel good at times, not feeling the songs, or the rhymes.

Attitude changes are real, even making a clear deal, to take care of you for good, it’s hard to do in the hood.

Food deserts, no money to buy the right diet, no good.

Type 2 was considered adult onset and now 8 years olds get it.

Poverty contributes to this hit. Let’s think about this as we sit.

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Denial; not a river, makes me tense up and quiver.

Allows us to justify, it’s really a lot to deny.

Work on the truth some say, it makes for an easier day.

200 is not normal, too much time with bathroom and thirst is abnormal!

Eat what we want when we want. We may even want to flaunt.

No taking breaks from my life, as it will bring more strife.

What would wonder woman do? Ask yourself, you know, yes you.

Test daily, eat organic, less stress, exercise, and try not to panic.

Do your own research, interview the medical people you work with and keep the search going if they do not measure up.

It is your life and nothing to fool with, you wouldn’t for your pup.

Remember denial, as it is so easy to live there. The consequences are rare and still here.

Amputation, heart effects, kidney dialysis, neuropathy, blindness and death is what denial brings.

Families say I don’t know really anything about his diabetes.

I know he lost a lot of weight and said diabetes was here to beat us.

Family denial is easier than looking at the truth of the illness.

It kills, just as much as cancer, addiction, heart disease or any other affliction, it just may take a bit longer to kill us.

health

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.