Longevity logo

Dawn's Serenade: The Tranquil Art of Early Morning Grocery Shopping

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1

Waking at 4:00am when the Sun is barely up is a enticing experience on its own. I don't know if you notice this; your body reacts differently when you wake up at different hours. Try to do this experiment for 3 days; day 1- wake up at 5:00am followed by day 2- wake up at 8:00am and finally day 3- wake up at 10:am. You will notice the way your body will react to this and it is not only the body but your mind too. Once you do it, do share your results here, I would love to know about it.

Opening the pantry I was reminded of the task planned for Dawn. The empty pantry seemed to echo my footsteps, closing the door to the pantry I headed for the fridge. Opening it I took out the milk and the diced fruits,

pouring the now heated milk in the glass, I plated the fruits and headed outside.

Sitting on my front porch while watching the Sun rising is a beautiful moment but I wished for a warm dish to go along with the breakfast laid before me. I was jotted out from my thoughts by Miss.Helen, a kind-spirited neighbour more like an older sister. Exchanging a few pleasantries she told me she woke up early to visit her grandparents and in her excitement she baked a few extra goodies that she was going to give to the cozy neighbourhood bakery but seeing me here she thought to pass one to me. Giving me the aluminium foil wrapped package she waved me good bye yelling over her head to take care of myself while going away.

Smiling at her back I muttered I will. Opening the package a tantalising aroma hit me, it was a freshly baked chicken bread. A moment of silence filled with shock was what hit me. Maybe I should have wished for something else but regardless I was happy with the simple gesture and enjoyed the meal before me with great enthusiasm.

Putting the dishes away, and the house in neatly order, I grabbed my handbag and headed for my bicycle closing the door behind me. Riding through the quiet street to the 24/7 opened small grocery store in the neighbourhood, reminding me that even the simple things in life can give  great pleasure if we just stop complaining.

Stopping at the entrance of the store, I parked my bicycle and headed in. I was greeted by the warm faces of Grandma Anui & Grandpa Mark, they are the most compassionate old couple owning/managing the store. Greeting them, I went to fetch the required items. The cool and crisp morning air create an atmosphere of serenity in the store.

Grocery shopping at the break of dawn is a unique and serene experience that often goes unnoticed in the hustle and bustle of the daily life. As the world awakens to a new day, the aisles of the supermarket remain tranquil, waiting to be explored. The silence in the store because of the presence of few shoppers and the unhurried pace of the employees contribute to a peaceful ambience that allows for mindful shopping.

Grocery shopping at the break of dawn is an opportunity to embrace the quietude and solitude that is often rare in our busy lives. The lack of crowds and long checkout lines make it easier to browse, compare prices, and take your time with selections. This unhurried pace allows for a more thorough and efficient shopping experience, enabling you to make deliberate and conscious decisions about what goes into your cart.

The sensory experience of early morning grocery shopping is truly unique. The scent of freshly baked bread from the in-store bakery, the earthy aroma of ripe fruits and vegetables, and the faint whiff of ground coffee beans in the air contribute to a symphony of scents that awaken the senses. The soft rustling of grocery bags and the occasional sound of a cart rolling down the aisle are the only interruptions in this peaceful symphony.

In a world that often moves too fast, grocery shopping at the break of dawn offers a tranquil and almost meditative start to the day. It's an opportunity to connect with the products you're selecting, engage with the store in a more personal way, and revel in the simple pleasure of a quiet, unhurried shopping experience. So, the next time you have the chance, consider setting your alarm a little earlier and embarking on a peaceful, early morning grocery adventure – it's a unique experience that can transform a mundane chore into a serene ritual.

Select the fresh produce, I can almost feel the vitality and energy each item holds, as if they're sharing their own morning energy with me providing me with a wonderful opportunity for mindful meal planning. Inviting me to consider my dietary needs, experiment with new recipes, and select items that align with my health and wellness goals.

mental healthhealthfeatureadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood6 months ago

    "It's a beautiful day in the neighbourhood." Your works always remind us there's meaning in those phrases we use very day! What you describe here is something very precious, not only the grocery shopping itself (and I completely agree, early morning is best - that fresh bread smell!) but also the natural beauty which seems to coexist comfortably with your town, and perhaps most of all the lovely neighbourly values of the people we meet. Miss Helen is very kind, and a simple act such as hers can truly make your day. She reminded me of when I was studying my PhD, and the Vietnamese students downstairs brought me some homemade spring rolls! Likewise, the couple who run the grocery store took me back to a time when local businesses were still run by people whose names you knew. For me that was Neville (or Nev!) and his wife at the general store, Mr Barrack at the newsagents, Janet the hairdresser, the elderly Burroughs at the post office, and next door to them Mr Fipps the butcher...no wonder I can't get used to today's faceless corporate world! That is why I so enjoyed your story, in which you fuse traditional community values with modern interpretations of mindfulness and well-being, showing there's still a place for these values even in the lives we lead today (indeed, that a balanced harmonious life can depend on these values). This account of your morning will bring me great comfort the next time some hipster nonentity from Amazon appears at my door!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.