Longevity logo

Covid

restrictions on life

By Brittany SeeboPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

Anyone else dislike covid-19 aside from myself? I mean seriously think about it. It's still a potential risk. Our entire culture has had to change because of it. It severely affects our seniors, children, and everyone with preexisting conditions. Yes, it still affects everyone else in the world too, but those are the less likely to survive it if they catch it. We did a complete 180 on the idea of wearing masks. Now it's a regular thing. At one time it was completely forbidden inside most stores, theatres, and many other places. People that would cause shooting typically wore a mask of some kind. Now everyone is wearing them.

I remember when people would look at me weirdly because I would wear a mask. I had to wear them though. I had undergone a double lung transplant and I had a weak immune system even prior to that. The transplant resulting in having to take immunosuppressants and anti-rejection medications to maintain the transplanted lungs. I year went by before covid-19 became known as a problem. It was deadly and I had to be even more cautious. Some people don't take it seriously enough, some people may take it too serious. I would think that the flu started out a very similar way.

Now, many people have been isolated and some people might still be. All places of business are taking more precautious and making sure everything people use has been sanitized before another person uses it. Masks are required in the majority of places. Hand sanitizers are everywhere. All employees have to have their temperatures checked for fevers. Even if it turns out that you only have a common cold or the flu, it is highly suggested to be tested for covid-19 just in case.

The part I don't like the most, is not being able to regularly get a hug from my closest friends, or I have to video call to see really talk to anyone and be able to see them. Large gatherings are not possible. I think there is still a gathering limit of about ten people although churches and restaurants may be allowed to open with 50% capacity. There goes the Halloween parties, Christmas parties, Family Thanksgiving dinner with everyone in the family coming over, or Friendsgiving, as some people like to do as a get together with friends on thanksgiving.

In the summer it wasn't so difficult. It was always nice enough and warm enough outside that keeping a good six feet apart from each other wasn't hard. You just had to talk louder to be heard.

Has anyone thought that it will be so weird to see New York City Times Square empty on New Years Eve? No one will get to be in the presence while they broadcast the ball drop. What about the usual music performances? Will there be any of that? I would not be surprised if there won't be.

Covid-19 has taken over our culture and the lives of many people around the world. If there is supposed to be a cleanse ordered by God, is this one of His ideas? Or is this just something man somehow created and released onto the world? I guess we will never really know. The year 2020, is likely to go down in history just like 9/11, the civil war, the war between the Americans wanting their freedom from England, World War one and World War two. Lets hope there is no World War three with nuclear missiles that end up destroying the planet and the ability to live on it.

Covid-19 is a conspiracy to some people. Like a bioweapon. But serious question. What is it with everyone buying all the toilet paper? I mean really? I can understand hand sanitizers, Clorox wipes, disinfectant sprays and cleaners and so on. But why toilet paper? It's covid-19 people. Not a diarrhea virus. Yes, some of you are home more often. Just buy a pack larger. Don't buy everything on the shelf. lol.

So, anyway, back on topic. Covid-19. It has changed the world as we know it. People lost jobs, many places are not exactly hiring even though they put out jobs for hire all the time. The little extra that the government was giving us, that probably screwed up a bunch of people. I made use out of it and did and internship training program for the career field I want to be in. It was worth it. But now that the extra from the government is gone. It is like barely getting by. I mean I make less, I have medical expenses that are difficult to pay for, especially when your insurance doesn't want to file claims correctly. Again, another story for another time.

At least I've been used to wearing a mask. It was mandatory for at minimum of six months. The wearing masks, diligently washing hands, keeping your distance. Man I just do not like Covid-19. But I want life and normal activities back now. I'm ready for this to be over. Many of you might feel the same, many of you may disagree. That's on you.

humanity

About the Creator

Brittany Seebo

Hey Hey

I'm a writer, or I try to be. I have a larger passion for music and so I became an Audio Engineer. I look forward to sharing knowledge, information, projects, recordings, etc. Maybe share stories for others with Cystic Fibrosis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brittany SeeboWritten by Brittany Seebo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.