Longevity logo

Covid-19 Madness: Stop Fighting Over Masks

For the love of all that is holy, let's just TRY to get along, okay?

By Chris HearnPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Image by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Okay, I've about had it with the whole mask shaming thing that is going on right now with this Covid-19 pandemic. It just seems to me that this outbreak has given people whole new ways to be complete jerkholes to each other. Stop it! We don't need more division right now.

Masks suck. They really truly do. I hate wearing them and have a lot of trouble with them. I cannot breath in them. Keep in mind with these things that we are being asked to cover our mouths and noses. These are, you know, the MAIN WAY THAT OXYGEN GETS INTO OUR BODIES! As it is, I seem to have problems with that. In my apartment I have fans going 24/7, 365 days a year. I open windows as wide as possible whenever I can. I constantly need air! This is the result of a heart condition and currently I have anemia - a winning combination. I don't say that to garner any sympathy. I really don't. I'm trying to explain that wearing masks really is NOT that easy for some of us and I find that way too many mask enthusiasts can't seem to wrap their heads around this fact. So, I try not to mask up as much as I can because it's just too hard and unpleasant.

Now, on social media, I've seen people calling those who don't wear masks everything from selfish whiners to, well, pick any swear word, they've all been used. People can get downright vile in their insults against anyone who doesn't wear a mask. And mask fetishists LOVE memes, so it isn't hard to find mask shaming memes by the mask load full.

Now, please, don't get me wrong. This isn't an anti-mask rant. I'm not against masks. From the beginning I have been listened to what the "experts" have to say on the subject. Clearly masks can be helpful in this pandemic. There is great value in them. But they aren't the magic bullet that will end this pandemic that some of the most pushy mask advocates seem to believe that they are. If all factors go perfectly and the wearer uses the mask in the proper way, then they are great. They still aren't 100 fool proof and the solution to the problem, but they can be good.

But face it, masks are often NOT used properly. People will put them on and they won't seal around the face well, are too big or too small, are not properly washed, etc. I see almost everyone who wears a mask using their hands to fidget with them. Well, if you have the virus, and you are touching your mask all the time, the virus is getting on your hands and unless you are washing or sanitizing them after every time you touch your mask you are opening up the possibility of spreading the virus. And, even if you don't have the virus, if you are exposed to it and it gets on your hands and you are touching your darn mask frequently, you are bringing the virus on to your face and putting yourself at risk. Masks are good, but if you aren't using it properly but being smug because you are wearing it, please stop. Just...stop. Please.

It should be noted that I am no expert in the field. I am not offering medical advice and you should turn to someone who is experienced in these matters for the right guidance. But, from what I see, "experts" have been saying all along that people should not get a false sense of security from masks. The most effective way to stop the spread is to socially distance and make sure you wash your hands constantly. Here's a pretty darn good video discussing some of the positives and negatives of mask wearing from DW in Germany.

Now, if I go to a store or restaurant and they want me to wear a mask, I do it. It's horrible, I hate it, I have trouble breathing, but I do it. I might decide not to go into the store or if I do I tend to not stay too long. And I often find that I have to pull the mask from my face on occasion to get fresh air into my lungs. I try to do this when people are distant from me or I'm in an area alone. But, I know the rules and I am not going to fight anyone over them.

Unfortunately, there are those who do wish to fight over them. Just as much as I say I hate it when people mask shame and want to see that stop, I also disagree with these folks we keep seeing in viral videos who get into fights with store employees because they are asked to wear a mask and they refuse. That behaviour is not acceptable either. If an establishment requires you to wear a mask, please refrain from fighting over it. It isn't something to fight about. It's a rule. You can either decide to wear the mask or not go in. But, causing a scene and creating havoc over it is not cool. Like the situation in the video below. This should not be happening. Employees aren't paid enough for this stuff. And I don't see any advantage to this kind of a fight.

Then, there have been accounts of people who see others without masks and decide to chastise them for it. If you feel the need to chastise someone who isn't wearing a mask, let me give you a suggestion. DON'T! You can't force everyone to wear a frickin' mask. You don't know why they aren't wearing a mask and it really isn't your place to tell people that they must wear a mask unless that is specifically your job. If you see someone without a mask and you feel uncomfortable about it, just stay away from that person. Seriously, it's really that easy. If only this lady had taken that advice:

Fighting over masks is insane. There is just no need to do it. Those who are staunchly anti-mask and those who believe that the sky is going to fall if one person doesn't wear a mask are really making this whole pandemic a heck of a lot more stressful than it needs to be. We don't need to be fighting over these things. Chill, everyone, chill.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chris Hearn

I'm a 47 year old writer, amateur photographer and amateur dad living in Winnipeg, MB, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.