Longevity logo

Breathing For Wellbeing

Simple Steps to Control Anxiety With Breathwork

By Ms GURMIT KAURPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Breathing For Wellbeing
Photo by Le Minh Phuong on Unsplash

Simple steps to control anxiety with breathwork

My yoga teacher taught me how to release all fear just by gently breathing out, not just blowing out which can lead to be hypoventilation but slowly let go, like you are releasing bubbles. Also, as you breathe out, as the same time you gently pull your navel point in and mostly you breathe through your nose not your mouth.

I loved listening to my yoga teacher; that was the only time in my life where I could focus on me, and I felt an ease in the atmosphere and warmth which was lacking in my busy life. I felt bliss listening to the yoga teacher and doing the very gentle movements, and when the big moment came I had to experience the pain of labour; it was pain followed by a feeling of elevation. I had mentally prepared for the day and knew that gently breathing out would release any fear I was facing and a rest period followed it. It was all a part of the natural process which lead to a happiness and joy which I experienced.

No one has a smooth life without pain or discomfort, and we all need to release our stress and feel refreshed again. We are all releasing our breath as we breathe daily, but when we do so consciously, we do it for our wellbeing and an increased feeling of relaxation. We can ease the times of discomfort in our lives to ensure that pain is lessened. We have to have faith and empower ourselves with knowledge to understand that we can really improve our wellbeing with breathwork.

We can still breath consciously with our face mask and face challenges as they come as we trust in our own ability to regenerate. Taking time out to enjoy the bliss of life without the pressures of reality. For me, this has been breathwork and walking.

After having my son, I used to go to mothers’ groups and listened to all the horror stories of labour.

It never told them about my joy and ease at which I dealt with this for me it was a private moment of joy but I wanted to advocate breathwork and gentle exercise for everyone, make it accessible so they too can experience the healing with breathwork.

It was always a burning desire to make this available for everyone, so everyone can learn the benefits of breathwork and use it in their everyday life for healing and wellbeing.

After so many lessons and training and experiencing the joy myself, I decided that I also want to make a change for good, help others learn about breathwork which has helped me on so many occasions. It has helped to keep me calm when I would have panicked; it has helped me to overcome anxiety and deal with difficult situations.

Learning breathwork can be easy when you are guided by a trained teacher and coach, it helps the journey of empowering yourself with breathwork. Learning firstly, conscious breathing, which sets out the foundations of breathwork before breathing for relaxation and energy. I produced a three week course and poster affirmation to be reminded that breathwork helps with wellbeing, on my website www.breathingforwellbeing.com

Gurmit Kaur

For more information contact me on [email protected]

health
2

About the Creator

Ms GURMIT KAUR

My background is in health research and I have worked in the health sector. I am also an independent yoga teacher with a passion for breathwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.